News ticker

1346 articles
Sunday November 23, 2014
Eskymos Overcome Mistakes; Win In Marquette

MARQUETTE----It was like playing baseball on a trampoline.

Ground balls would hit the hard playing surface and bounce every-which-way as the Escanaba Eskymos and Marquette Redmen played Thursday afternoon in Marquette.

No, the guys did not play on the nicely-maintained Haley Field, with its green grass and 400-foot center field. Because of an on-going dispute between the high school and American Legion programs, Thursday's high school game was relegated to the junior varsity field next door. It has a 297-foot drive from home plate to right field and a "lip" so bad on the infield grass that both coaches agreed not to bunt during the game.

Eskymo freshman Sean Bissell on base.
So as a Junior Legion game was played on Haley Field, the Eskymos and Redmen made the most of the situation on the small field. Escanaba won the game, 14-3, pounding out 14 base hits in the process. The game was called after six innings by the mercy rule.

"The field wasn't in the best of shape and there were a lot of bad hops out there," Eskymo Coach Kirk Schwalbach said after his team made five errors, leading to all three Redmen runs. "You can give a million excuses.

"I don't know if the kids are coming in and still taking Marquette seriously or not. But we won, 14-3, and we overcame those mistakes."

Escanaba scored seven runs in the second inning (three of them on bases-loaded walks) to break the game open, then scored five more runs in the top of the sixth inning.

Senior Austin Young had three hits (a double and two singles), drove in two runs, and scored three times to lead the Eskymos. He also threw a man out at third base.

Austin Young had three base hits.
"You run out of adjectives to describe Austin," Schwalbach said. "He threw that kid out at third with a great throw. He's just a solid player. It's fun to watch him play. I get so many good comments from people about how he presents himself on the field and how he plays baseball. He's entertaining."

Ben Kleiman also had a single and a double, Cam Beversluis had a two-run double, and 14-year-old Sean Bissell caught his eighth straight game and drove in a pair of runs with a single and a bases-loaded walk.

But the highlight of the game was sophomore Bailey Lamb, who's hitting has been as hot as his hair is red. He clubbed a three-run homer to left field in the second inning, his first round-tripper as an Eskymo.


Alternative content

Bailey Lamb three-run homer
Lamb has driven in 12 runs in his last six games.

"I just saw 'er right down the middle and I took a good swing at it," Lamb said. "I just felt like 'finally, a solid one!'"

"Every time he gets an at-bat, he drives the ball," Schwalbach said. "He takes advantage of his opportunities. I have been real happy with Bailey lately."

Devin Olsen picked up the pitching win.
Devin Olsen got the ball for the Eskymos, and he struggled to throw strikes, walking five men in four innings of work, and going deep into the count on several other batters.

Still, Olsen did not allow an earned run and yielded just three base hits.

"Devin didn't have his best stuff tonight, the way he did in Stephenson," Schwalbach said. "He's capable of being in command. He battled through it. We got four good innings out of him, and that saved some arms for this weekend with the Soo coming in."

Andrew Sedlar pitched the final two innings for the Eskymos, striking out three batters and allowing one unearned run. Sedlar also had a hit in his only at-bat late in the game.

Brett Beauchamp took the loss on the mound for Marquette, going 1 2/3 innings, allowing eight runs (three earned) on three hits and five walks. Connor Brazeau went the final 4 1/3 innings, allowing six runs on 11 hits. Offensively, Nathan LaMora led the Redmen with two base hits. Ryan Frasier and Brandon Lotterman also had hits.

Escanaba (13-7) beat Marquette (8-9) for the third time this season. The Eskymos will host the Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils in a doubleheader Saturday at Al Ness Field.

"You want to play well and let them know that they're gonna have their hands full if they play you (in districts)," Schwalbach said. "It's Parent's Day, so we want to have a good performance for the parents who are coming for the game. It's a big weekend for us."

Game time is 12:00 noon. The doubleheader will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (600), and over the Internet at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the "ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS" box to see more photos and videos from the game. Thanks again to Holly Bockman for doing thatfor the team.


Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
Date Time Opponent Score Record
4/10
5:30 PM
at Escanaba Eskymos
2 - 12 (L)
4/24
4:00 PM
at Norway Knights
2 - 3 (L)
4/24
6:00 PM
at Norway Knights
5 - 11 (L)
4/25
4:00 PM
Superior Central Cougars
9 - 5 (W)
4/25
6:29 PM
Superior Central Cougars
12 - 2 (W)
5/2
6:30 PM
at Gladstone Indians
1 - 11 (L)
7-5
5/5
10:00 AM
Menominee Red Wave Legion
5 - 0 (W)
8-5
5/5
5:00 PM
at Escanaba Eskymos
1 - 7 (L)
8-6
5/8
3:00 PM
Newberry Indians
0 - 2 (L)
5/8
5:00 PM
Newberry Indians
2 - 4 (L)
5/10
5:30 PM
Escanaba Eskymos
3 - 14 (L)
8-9
5/12
11:00 AM
Stephenson Eagles
7 - 6 (W)
9-9
5/12
6:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
4 - 1 (W)
10-9
5/14
6:30 PM
Gladstone Indians
2 - 3 (L)
5/21
4:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
4 - 5 (L)
5/21
6:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
9 - 3 (W)
5/29
3:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
3 - 7 (L)



2012 ESCANABA CUBS TEAM ROSTER
Sunday August 26, 2012
Up-And-Down Cubs Season Ends In Shutout Loss
Friday August 3, 2012
Cubs Blow 5-0 Lead; Fall In Ten At State Tourney
Thursday August 2, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Win U.P. Zone Five Championship
Sunday July 29, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Settle For Split At U.P. Zone Finals
Thursday July 26, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Pound Menominee In Season Finale
Tuesday July 24, 2012
Eskymo David Falish Named Academic All-Stater
Monday July 23, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Split Four Games In Sault Ste. Marie
Saturday July 7, 2012
One That Got Away: Kimberly Rally Stuns Escanaba
Saturday June 30, 2012
Esky Cubs Blanked In Kimberly Tourney Opener
Friday June 29, 2012
Lamb Shuts Down Marquette As Cubs Post 3-0 Win
Wednesday June 27, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Sweep Twinbill In Daggett
Monday June 25, 2012
Mistake-Prone Cubs Lose Twice; Out of Tourney
Saturday June 23, 2012
Esky Cubs Blank Soo Canada For Tournament Split
Friday June 22, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Rally For Wild Win In Marquette
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Successful Season
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Get Fathers Day DH Sweep
Sunday June 17, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Open Season With Five In Green Bay
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 FINAL ESKYMO BASEBALL STATS
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 ESKYMO BASEBALL ROSTER
Sunday June 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Season Ends In Regional Semifinal
Sunday June 10, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Regional Challenge
Friday June 8, 2012
District Champs! Eskymos Finally Put It Together
Monday June 4, 2012
Eskymo District Playoff Games Rained Out In Soo
Saturday June 2, 2012
Weyers Complete Game Leads Tribe Past Eskymos
Thursday May 31, 2012
Eskymos Drop Two Of Three In Sault Ste. Marie
Sunday May 27, 2012
Eskymos Top Miners Under Gale Force Winds, 15-8
Thursday May 24, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Salvage Third Place In Tourney
Saturday May 19, 2012
Falish, Skufca Lead Eskymos To Victory
Friday May 18, 2012
Errors Costly Again As Eskymos Blow Late Lead
Thursday May 17, 2012
Mercy Killing: Eskymos Finish Zero-For-Wisconsin
Tuesday May 15, 2012
Indians Squeeze Past Redmen To Stay Unbeaten
Monday May 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Mistake-Prone Sault Blue Devils
Saturday May 12, 2012
Indians Hang On To Beat Eskymos In Rivalry Battle
Wednesday May 9, 2012
DeHaan, Kleiman Lead Eskymos To Tourney Sweep
Sunday May 6, 2012
Eskymos Start Fast But Fall Again In Wisconsin 6-5
Friday May 4, 2012
Olsen Leads Eskymos To 12-2 Win At Stephenson
Wednesday May 2, 2012
Eskymos Beat Saginaw; Nearly Topple Mt. Pleasant
Sunday April 29, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Saginaw Showcase
Friday April 27, 2012
Eskymos Rally For Walk-Off Win Over Negaunee
Thursday April 26, 2012
Eskymos Top Stephenson In Sloppy Baseball Match
Tuesday April 24, 2012
Eskymos Struck By Lightning Twice In Appleton
Saturday April 21, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Beat Kingsford In Cold Rain
Friday April 20, 2012
Eskymos Shivver, Roll Past Norway Again, 17-0
Tuesday April 17, 2012
Eskymos Suffer Power Outage In Loss To Shawano
Saturday April 14, 2012
Delta County Boy Scouts Help Eskymos With Flag
Saturday April 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Rudyard To Start Big Homestand
Friday April 13, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Rip Norway To Go To 2-0
Wednesday April 11, 2012
Eskymos Open Season With Win Over Marquette
Tuesday April 10, 2012
Young Eskymos Ready For 2012 Baseball Season
Sunday April 8, 2012
Schwalbach Hired As New Eskymo Baseball Coach
Saturday March 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball, Softball Teams Start Practice
Friday March 16, 2012