News ticker

2850 articles
Sunday October 22, 2017
Gauthier Hits Four Homers As Eskymos Win Twice

ESCANABA---The Escanaba High School softball team opened its home season in a big way on Wednesday, whipping the Negaunee Miners, 11-1 and 15-0, in a doubleheader at Lemmerand Park. The first game ended on the mercy rule in the bottom of the sixth inning while the nightcap was called by the mercy rule in the bottom of the third inning.

Taylor Gauthier had quite a day at the plate. After striking out in her first appearance in the opener, she crushed four home runs and added a double the rest of the way.

Gauthier now has eight home runs this season, which is only a couple of weeks old.

Katie Ross pitched the first game, throwing five scoreless innings, including three strikeouts in the first inning. The cold weather got to Ross in the sixth inning as her recently-injured leg tightened up, so she was replaced for the final outs.

In the second game, freshman Gabi Salo threw three scoreless innings. The game ended on the 15-run rule as Jerrika McAlpine got the base hit to conclude the doubleheader. Escanaba improved to 8-1 on the season.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos taken by Mary Gauthier.





Choose team:
No schedule entries



ON, WISCONSIN! Escanaba's Salo Commits To UW
Monday August 21, 2017
LAST DAY IN THE SUN: Girls Play All-Star Softball
Wednesday June 21, 2017
Four Escanaba Eskymos Named To All-State Teams
Monday June 19, 2017
Escanaba Softball Season Ends Again In State Semis
Thursday June 15, 2017
Eskymos Take Softball Challenge To Michigan State
Wednesday June 14, 2017
Eskymos Blank Swan Valley; Return To Final Four
Tuesday June 13, 2017
Eskymos, Braves Prepare For Softball Quarterfinals
Monday June 12, 2017
SOFTBALL WARFARE: Eskymos Win Two Battles
Saturday June 10, 2017
Escanaba Softball Looking To Defend Regional Title
Thursday June 8, 2017
SMOKIN' SALO: Freshman Fans 11 In Eskymo Win
Tuesday May 30, 2017
Eskymos Overwhelm Braves; Take Softball Twinbill
Tuesday May 23, 2017
SOFTBALL RIVALRY: Escanaba Sweeps Gladstone
Tuesday May 16, 2017
SOFTBALL FEAST: Eskymos Sweep Annual Invite
Saturday May 13, 2017
Escanaba Girls Sweep Flivvs; Braves, Rockets Split
Tuesday May 9, 2017
Gladstone Girls Win St. Francis Softball Tournament
Saturday April 29, 2017
Eskymo Girls Win Three Of Four Games Downstate
Saturday April 15, 2017
ORANGE CRUSH: Esky Softball Rolls In Wisconsin
Saturday April 8, 2017