News ticker

3186 articles
Saturday June 23, 2018
Eskymos Stunned By Overtime Loss To Gaylord

WELLS---The Escanaba High School hockey team gave up two goals in the final 19 seconds of regulation, and then lost in overtime to the Gaylord Blue Devils, 5-4, Friday night at the Hannahville Ice & Turf.

Gabe Kleinsorge scored at the 4:21 mark of overtime to break the 4-4 tie and complete an amazing comeback for the Blue Devils.

The Eskymos led, 4-2, until Gaylord pulled its goaltender and managed to get two goals in 18.6 seconds, by Gunnar Buhr and Sam Gomo. Gomo's goal came with 0.6 seconds left in regulation, and marked Gaylord's second comeback of the evening.

Escanaba jumped to a 2-0 lead as Christer Carne and Hayden Haslow scored in the first period. The Blue Devils got two quick goals of their own to tie the game at 2-2.

Carne gave the Eskymos a 3-2 lead in the second period, and then Grant Wickham scored to make it 4-2...a lead that would stand until the final seconds.

It was a bitter pill for the Eskymos, who also lost, 4-0, to Marquette on Tuesday.

The Eskymos (0-2-0) have the rest of the weekend off before traveling to Negaunee on Monday. Game time is 7:00. The game will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600), and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the AUDIO button above to hear Hayden Haslow's player spotlight interview.

Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



Eskymo Hockey Ends Season With Awards Banquet
Monday March 19, 2018
OH, SO CLOSE! Eskymo Upset Bid Comes Up Short
Thursday March 1, 2018
Eskymos Roll Past Negaunee In Playoff Opener 9-1
Tuesday February 27, 2018
Eskymo Hockey Closes Season With 3-1 Victory
Friday February 23, 2018
McKay Hat Trick Leads Gremlins Past Eskymos 6-2
Thursday February 22, 2018
Eskymos Drop Overtime Heartbreaker In Kingsford
Wednesday February 14, 2018
Flivvers Swarm Eskymos In Mercy-Shortened Game
Thursday February 1, 2018
Huge Second Period Leads Eskymos Past Negaunee
Tuesday January 30, 2018
Stannard Scores Twice; Eskymos Fall In Hancock
Thursday January 25, 2018
MERCY: Calumet Power Play Overwhelms Eskymos
Thursday January 18, 2018
ON THIN ICE: Rough 1st Period Costs Eskymos, 5-1
Tuesday January 16, 2018
Eskymos Complete Hockey Sweep In Traverse City
Saturday January 13, 2018
Penalty Killing Lifts Blue Devils Past Eskymos, 3-1
Tuesday January 9, 2018
OFFENSIVE SLUGFEST: Esky Smacks Negaunee
Monday December 4, 2017
Eskymo Hockey Drops Season-Opener To Redmen
Tuesday November 28, 2017