News ticker

3352 articles
Monday October 22, 2018
Milwaukee Tech's Size, Speed Too Much For Norse

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team fell to an athletic and quick Milwaukee Tech Stormer squad, 88-76, Saturday afternoon in Escanaba.

The Norse made a furious comeback from 15 points down in the secfond half to close to within three at 59-56, but the Stormers went on a big run to put the game away.

Bay College played without big man Dontae Ellis, who was injured in Friday's game against Alpena. And starting 6-10 center Kobi Barnes played just three minutes due to an ankle injury that's plagued him for two weeks.

Escanaba High School graduate Tyler Willette tried to carry his team in the second half, putting up 23 of his career high 29 points in the final period. He made ten of the 15 shots he took from the floor, and was 9-of-11 at the line.

Willette also grabbed 17 rebounds.

The Norse closed to within 59-56 with eleven minutes left in the game after Alfonzo Fields drained a triple and Willette hit an off-balance shot in the lane.

They would get no closer as Mitchell Charapata came off the bench to drain two three-pointers to go along with some athletic end-to-end plays run by Jarreyon Johnson, D'Angelo Pryor, and Jaidon Echols. The Stormers outrebounded Bay, 56-42.

Fields and Marcus McKenney each scored 12 points for the Norse, while Dre Tuominen added 11. Pryor led the Stormers with 23 points and 13 rebounds.

In Saturday's first game, Gogebic Community College outlasted Alpena Community College, 58-55, as Davonte Williamson sank the game-winning three-point basket.

Bay College travels to Manitowoc next Friday to face Silver Lake College, and then hosts the UW-Superior Junior Varsity team the following Monday in Escanaba.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, video highlights, and hear interviews with Willette, Marcus McKenney, and Coach Matt Johnson.









STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
Ferris State Wins National Basketball Championship
Saturday March 24, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Michigan Tech Pulls Away Late To Top NMU, 77-66
Sunday January 28, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Perez Scores 1,000th Point In NMU Basketball Win
Monday January 22, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
SPLIT DECISION: Northern Men Win; Women Fall
Sunday December 17, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
'Cats Top Saginaw Valley St; Honor Gene Summers
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
Wildcat Basketball Team Ends Road Trip With Loss
Saturday November 25, 2017
Wildcat Basketball Team Wins On Late Tip-in, 71-69
Friday November 24, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
Northern Men's Basketball Team Falls In Minnesota
Friday November 17, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Northern Begins Basketball Season With Two Wins
Sunday November 12, 2017
Michigan Tech Basketball Sweeps Weekend Series
Sunday November 12, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Northern Basketball Signs Holmgren, Wolf For 2018
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Lake State Hires David Paitson As Athletic Director
Wednesday September 6, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017