News ticker

3227 articles
Wednesday July 18, 2018
Eskymos Complete Hockey Sweep In Traverse City

TRAVERSE CITY---The Escanaba High School hockey team picked up two victories at the North/South Hockey Showcase against downstate teams this weekend.

The Eskymos beat the Romeo Bulldogs, 4-0, on Friday, and then overwhelmed the Portage Central Mustangs, 6-2, on Saturday.

In Saturday's game, the Eskymos threw 51 shots on the Mustang net. Ethan Silverstone scored two goals, Kyle Krutina had a three-assist playmaker, and Joey Jacobson had a goal and an assist. Aaron Young added a pair of assists.

Brayden Stannard, Hayden Haslow, and Luke Labre also scored for Escanaba.

Brodie Goddard picked up the win in net, making 24 saves.

On Friday, Goddard earned a shutout in net against Romeo, and four different players scored Eskymo goals.

Blaine Reinhart scored 5:12 into the first period, then Grant Wickham tallied 1:07 into the second period on the power play.

The Eskymos added to the lead in the third period with another power play goal by Stannard and an even-strength goal by Krutina.

Reinhart and Wickham had assists to go along with their goals.

The Eskymos improved to 4-6 on the season. The boys are on the road Tuesday in Marquette to face the Redmen. The game will be broadcast live on WGKL-FM (Kool 105.5) and WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600), and at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the VIDEO thumbnail in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see a video clip of Brayden Stannard's Saturday goal.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Eskymo Hockey Ends Season With Awards Banquet
Monday March 19, 2018
OH, SO CLOSE! Eskymo Upset Bid Comes Up Short
Thursday March 1, 2018
Eskymos Roll Past Negaunee In Playoff Opener 9-1
Tuesday February 27, 2018
Eskymo Hockey Closes Season With 3-1 Victory
Friday February 23, 2018
McKay Hat Trick Leads Gremlins Past Eskymos 6-2
Thursday February 22, 2018
Eskymos Drop Overtime Heartbreaker In Kingsford
Wednesday February 14, 2018
Flivvers Swarm Eskymos In Mercy-Shortened Game
Thursday February 1, 2018
Huge Second Period Leads Eskymos Past Negaunee
Tuesday January 30, 2018
Stannard Scores Twice; Eskymos Fall In Hancock
Thursday January 25, 2018
MERCY: Calumet Power Play Overwhelms Eskymos
Thursday January 18, 2018
ON THIN ICE: Rough 1st Period Costs Eskymos, 5-1
Tuesday January 16, 2018
Penalty Killing Lifts Blue Devils Past Eskymos, 3-1
Tuesday January 9, 2018
OFFENSIVE SLUGFEST: Esky Smacks Negaunee
Monday December 4, 2017
Eskymos Stunned By Overtime Loss To Gaylord
Saturday December 2, 2017
Eskymo Hockey Drops Season-Opener To Redmen
Tuesday November 28, 2017