News ticker

3441 articles
Tuesday December 18, 2018
McKay Hat Trick Leads Gremlins Past Eskymos 6-2

WELLS---Dawson McKay scored three goals to lead the Houghton Gremlins to a 6-2 win over the Escanaba Eskymos Thursday night at the Hannahville Ice & Turf in Wells.

Two of McKay's goals were top-shelf, under the crossbar, just seconds after the Eskymos battled back into the game. He now has 31 goals on the season.

Houghton dominated the first period, outshooting the Eskymos, 21-1, but the Gremlins led just 1-0 on a MacKay power play goal at the 9:11 mark.

Escanaba goaltender Brodie Goddard stopped 20 shots, then watched as his team tied the game midway through the second period.

Grant Wickham scored off a nice feed from Brayden Stannard, and despite being outshot 30-7, it was a 1-1 tie.

That tie didn't last long, however, as McKay scored just 28 seconds after Wickham's goal to give the Gremlins the lead. And then 40 seconds later, Ty Halonen made it 3-1.

In the third period, two Gremlins ended up in the penalty box, and the Eskymos took advantage of the 5-on-3 power play as Kyle Krutina found the back of the net.

And the Eskymos had a golden chance to tie the game on the next shift as Wickham and Christer Carne both were in close, but Gremlin goalie Jimmy Pietila held his ground.

Then McKay sniped another one to complete his hat trick to make it 4-2.

Clayton Sayen and Taavi Rajala also scored as the Gremlins pulled away to finish the regular season with a 17-7-1 record. The Gremlins outshot the Eskymos, 48-16.

Escanaba (6-18) finishes its regular season with a home game on Friday against Painesdale-Jeffers, then opens the regionals next Tuesday against Negaunee.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Sandi Young and Anne Truitt, and listen to player spotlight interviews with Grant Wickham and Ethan Silverstone.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Eskymo Hockey Ends Season With Awards Banquet
Monday March 19, 2018
OH, SO CLOSE! Eskymo Upset Bid Comes Up Short
Thursday March 1, 2018
Eskymos Roll Past Negaunee In Playoff Opener 9-1
Tuesday February 27, 2018
Eskymo Hockey Closes Season With 3-1 Victory
Friday February 23, 2018
Eskymos Drop Overtime Heartbreaker In Kingsford
Wednesday February 14, 2018
Flivvers Swarm Eskymos In Mercy-Shortened Game
Thursday February 1, 2018
Huge Second Period Leads Eskymos Past Negaunee
Tuesday January 30, 2018
Stannard Scores Twice; Eskymos Fall In Hancock
Thursday January 25, 2018
MERCY: Calumet Power Play Overwhelms Eskymos
Thursday January 18, 2018
ON THIN ICE: Rough 1st Period Costs Eskymos, 5-1
Tuesday January 16, 2018
Eskymos Complete Hockey Sweep In Traverse City
Saturday January 13, 2018
Penalty Killing Lifts Blue Devils Past Eskymos, 3-1
Tuesday January 9, 2018
OFFENSIVE SLUGFEST: Esky Smacks Negaunee
Monday December 4, 2017
Eskymos Stunned By Overtime Loss To Gaylord
Saturday December 2, 2017
Eskymo Hockey Drops Season-Opener To Redmen
Tuesday November 28, 2017