News ticker

3352 articles
Monday October 22, 2018
Braves Trying To Keep Championship Dream Alive

PELLSTON---The Gladstone High School baseball team is still riding high after pulling a stunning upset over top-ranked Traverse City Saint Francis in the regional championship game on Saturday. But at high school playoff time, there's no time to rest, and the Braves were back below the Bridge Monday afternoon.

The team practiced at Pellston High School in preparation for Tuesday's Division Three state quarterfinal against the Standish-Sterling Panthers.

The Panthers are 29-8 and coming off a come-from-behind 7-3 win over Beaverton in their regional championship game.

"We need to play outstanding defense and get some timely hitting," Gladstone Manager Don Lauscher said. "Sometimes, we don't hit that well, but when we do, we have to make sure there's guys on base. Put the ball in play, and play 'small ball' when we have to. I think that we're ready to go, and we should perform and play well."

Gladstone (33-4) beat Boyne City, 6-4, in last Saturday's regional semifinal, before pulling off the upset in ten innings over top-ranked St. Francis, 8-4. The Braves players are still riding the wave of emotion and excitement from that improbable victory.

"It's been a great experience so far, but as a team, we want to push it further," Gladstone center fielder Owen Hanson said. "We never gave up. We knew that whenever they (St. Francis) scored, we had to come back and score some more."

"It's going to take a lot of hard work, dedication, and we need to keep our bats going. We've just got to play hard. I know we can do it."

Gladstone will rely on the pitching of Carson Shea, with Clay Cole and Jared Crow unable to throw because of the pitch count rule. Shea threw the final four innings of Saturday's championship game, wiggling off the hook several times against St. Francis.

"I've got to locate my fastball," Shea said. "I can't just throw it right down the middle. And hopefully, my curve is working. That's the game plan."

Gladstone trailed, 2-0, before rallying to win.

Standish-Sterling also trailed in its game, 2-0, before they scored five runs in the fourth inning. Clay Crouterfield threw five innings for the pitching win and A.J. Karnath threw the final two innings to earn the save.

The winner of Tuesday's game advances to the state semifinals at Michigan State University.

It would be Gladstone's first appearance at MSU since 2015, when Hanson, Clay Cole, Lucas Weinert, and Braeden Lamberg were all freshmen.

Tuesday's game starts at 12:00 noon in Petoskey. The broadcast on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600) and www.rrnsports.com starts at 11:30 Tuesday morning.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS above to see photos amd videos from Monday's practice, and interviews with Lauscher, Shea, and Hanson.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gladstone Indians Sweep Doubleheader From Sault
Sunday July 15, 2018
Gladstone Indians Bats Overwhelm Bark River Bucs
Tuesday July 10, 2018
Gladstone Tops Bark River To Win Soo Tournament
Sunday July 8, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Six Errors Sink Cubs In Gladstone
Tuesday July 3, 2018
UP Teams Have Rough Finish At Marinette Tourney
Sunday July 1, 2018
TAKE TWO: Indians Beat Manitowoc, GB Shockers
Saturday June 30, 2018
Gladstone Dominates Pulaski In Firecracker Opener
Friday June 29, 2018
Braves Celebrate Most Successful Baseball Season
Monday June 25, 2018
LUCKY 6: DePere Scores Six Runs In Sixth For Title
Sunday June 24, 2018
Indians Drop Semifinal Game To Midland Berryhill
Sunday June 24, 2018
LATE NIGHT WALK-OFF: Cubs Outlast Bark River
Saturday June 23, 2018
Last-Minute Rally Falls Short For Gladstone Indians
Friday June 22, 2018
Indians Take Advantage Of Cub Mistakes In Opener
Thursday June 21, 2018
Gladstone's Clay Cole Named To D3 All-State Team
Monday June 18, 2018
END OF THE LINE: Braves, Lauscher Fall In Semis
Friday June 15, 2018
WINNING UGLY: Braves Overcome Mistakes, 3-2
Tuesday June 12, 2018
WHAT A FEELING!!! Braves Stun No. 1 St. Francis
Saturday June 9, 2018
Gladstone Baseball Prepares For Regional Tourney
Friday June 8, 2018
Gladstone, North Central Get Ready For Regionals
Tuesday June 5, 2018
Gladstone Capture Baseball, Softball District Titles
Saturday June 2, 2018
Braves Close Regular Season With Win Over Miners
Monday May 28, 2018
Gladstone, Marquette Split Baseball Doubleheader
Friday May 25, 2018
DEFENSIVE BATTLE: Hornets Sneak Past Braves
Thursday May 24, 2018
PITCHING RULES: Hanson No-Hitter Paces Braves
Tuesday May 22, 2018
Gladstone Tops Marquette In Baseball Home Finale
Thursday May 17, 2018
Braves Reward Seniors With Win Over Menominee
Monday May 14, 2018
Shea, Hanson Pitch Gladstone Past Sault Ste. Marie
Friday May 11, 2018
ROARING BACK: Braves Complete Rivalry Sweep
Thursday May 10, 2018
DOING THE SPLITS: Braves, Redmen Trade Wins
Thursday May 3, 2018
Gladstone Rallies To Stop Escanaba In Showdown
Tuesday May 1, 2018
Gladstone Settles For DH Split In Icy Sturgeon Bay
Saturday April 28, 2018
PLAY BALL!!! Baseball Season Finally Gets Started
Monday April 23, 2018
Opening Baseball Tournament Cancelled By Snow
Wednesday April 4, 2018