News ticker

1200 articles
Thursday July 24, 2014
Cubs Blow 5-0 Lead; Fall In Ten At State Tourney

MARQUETTE---For the second straight week, the Escanaba Cubs opened a tournament against the Menominee Red Wave on a small "second" field.

And for the second straight week, the result was the same: a loss.

The Cubs built a 5-0 lead on Thursday, and if this was a seven-inning game like normal, Escanaba would have been celebrating a victory. But these are nine inning games at the state tournament, and Menominee rallied to post a 6-5 win in ten innings.

Escanaba and Menominee played this game on the small field next to the main Gerard Haley Field in Marquette. One week ago, in Sault Ste, Marie, the teams met on a small field during the Upper Peninsula Finals, and Menominee won that time, 5-2.

David Falish at the plate Thursday.
The Cubs managed to bounce back and win that tournament, earning a spot in this six-team state tournament. But this time will be tougher, because this loss happened during bracket play. It happened in pool play last weekend.

So, the Cubs will have to keep winning over the next three days to stay alive.

Alex DeHaan's RBI single gave the Cubs a 1-0 lead as David Falish scored on the play. And the lead grew to 5-0, and with Trent Schwalbach pitching well, it looked good for Escanaba.

But then came that fateful eighth inning when Menominee rallied.

Sean Budzynski's three-run double made it a 5-3 game. Then an error and stolen base kept the inning alive for the Red Wave (13-25). Derek Reiswitz came through with a two-run single down the left field line, and it was a 5-5 tie.

In the tenth inning, Adam Saucier's single drove home Landon Maccoux to put the Red Wave in front. Escanaba had a chance in the bottom of the inning, but with runners on second and third and two out, Justyn Doucette bounced out to end the game.

Escanaba (14-14) will face Marquette in a loser's bracket game Friday at 10:30 a.m.

Thanks to Kym Frazer for the photos.

Thursday, August 2, 2012
Menominee 6, Escanaba 5 (10 Innings)
Hudson 13, Gladstone 11 (11 Innings)
Kingsford 11, Menominee 1 (7 Innings)
Hudson 4, Marquette 3 (10 Innings)

Friday, August 3, 2012
10 a.m.---Game 5: Gladstone vs Menominee
10:30---Game 6: Escanaba vs Marquette
2:00---Game 8: Winner 5 vs Winner 6
6:00---Game 7: Hudson vs Kingsford

Saturday, August 4, 2012
10 a.m.---Game 9: Winner 8 vs Loser 7
2:00---Game 10: Winner 9 vs Winner 7

Sunday, August 5, 2012
Noon----Championship IF NECESSARY





Choose team:
Date Time Opponent Score Record
6/15
1:00 PM
at Green Bay Shockers
0 - 8 (L)
0-1
6/15
3:30 PM
at Kaukauna Legion
3 - 0 (W)
1-1
6/16
1:00 PM
Manitowoc Legion
7 - 8 (L)
1-2
6/16
6:00 PM
Sheboygan Legion
8 - 7 (W)
2-2
6/17
11:00 AM
Kaukauna Legion
7 - 10 (L)
2-3
6/19
6:30 PM
at Marquette Blues
11 - 9 (W)
3-3
6/22
3:00 PM
Kingsford Legion Blues
6 - 7 (L)
3-4
6/22
8:00 PM
Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario) Black Sox
8 - 0 (W)
4-4
6/23
5:15 PM
Midland Berryhill
0 - 8 (L)
4-5
6/23
7:30 PM
Chief Pontiac
1 - 7 (L)
4-6
6/27
8:00 PM
Marquette Blues
3 - 0 (W)
5-6
6/29
4:00 PM
at Appleton Post 38
0 - 10 (L)
5-7
6/30
4:00 PM
at Highland, Indiana
0 - 10 (L)
5-8
6/30
6:30 PM
at Kimberly, Wis.
8 - 10 (L)
5-9
7/6
1:15 PM
at Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario) Black Sox
17 - 0 (W)
6-9
7/6
8:00 PM
at Eastern U.P. Travelers
5 - 7 (L)
6-10
7/7
10:00 AM
Petoskey Legion
9 - 3 (W)
7-10
7/7
3:00 PM
Alpena Wildcats
3 - 4 (L)
7-11
7/19
8:00 PM
Gladstone Indians
0 - 3 (L)
7-12
7/22
1:00 PM
Eastern U.P. Travelers
3 - 1 (W)
8-12
7/22
3:30 PM
Eastern U.P. Travelers
5 - 2 (W)
9-12
7/24
8:00 PM
at Menominee Red Wave Legion
16 - 3 (W)
10-12
7/26
2:00 PM
Marquette Blues
13 - 3 (W)
11-12
7/26
7:30 PM
Menominee Red Wave Legion
2 - 5 (L)
11-13
7/27
12:00 PM
Eastern U.P. Travelers
15 - 4 (W)
12-13
7/28
10:30 AM
at Gladstone Indians
7 - 6 (W)
13-13
7/28
2:00 PM
Kingsford Legion Blues
17 - 3 (W)
14-13
8/2
10:00 AM
Menominee Red Wave Legion
5 - 6 (L)
14-14
8/3
9:30 AM
Marquette Blues
0 - 8 (L)
14-15



2012 ESCANABA CUBS TEAM ROSTER
Sunday August 26, 2012
Up-And-Down Cubs Season Ends In Shutout Loss
Friday August 3, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Win U.P. Zone Five Championship
Sunday July 29, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Settle For Split At U.P. Zone Finals
Thursday July 26, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Pound Menominee In Season Finale
Tuesday July 24, 2012
Eskymo David Falish Named Academic All-Stater
Monday July 23, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Split Four Games In Sault Ste. Marie
Saturday July 7, 2012
One That Got Away: Kimberly Rally Stuns Escanaba
Saturday June 30, 2012
Esky Cubs Blanked In Kimberly Tourney Opener
Friday June 29, 2012
Lamb Shuts Down Marquette As Cubs Post 3-0 Win
Wednesday June 27, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Sweep Twinbill In Daggett
Monday June 25, 2012
Mistake-Prone Cubs Lose Twice; Out of Tourney
Saturday June 23, 2012
Esky Cubs Blank Soo Canada For Tournament Split
Friday June 22, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Rally For Wild Win In Marquette
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Successful Season
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Get Fathers Day DH Sweep
Sunday June 17, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Open Season With Five In Green Bay
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 FINAL ESKYMO BASEBALL STATS
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 ESKYMO BASEBALL ROSTER
Sunday June 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Season Ends In Regional Semifinal
Sunday June 10, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Regional Challenge
Friday June 8, 2012
District Champs! Eskymos Finally Put It Together
Monday June 4, 2012
Eskymo District Playoff Games Rained Out In Soo
Saturday June 2, 2012
Weyers Complete Game Leads Tribe Past Eskymos
Thursday May 31, 2012
Eskymos Drop Two Of Three In Sault Ste. Marie
Sunday May 27, 2012
Eskymos Top Miners Under Gale Force Winds, 15-8
Thursday May 24, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Salvage Third Place In Tourney
Saturday May 19, 2012
Falish, Skufca Lead Eskymos To Victory
Friday May 18, 2012
Errors Costly Again As Eskymos Blow Late Lead
Thursday May 17, 2012
Mercy Killing: Eskymos Finish Zero-For-Wisconsin
Tuesday May 15, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Mistake-Prone Sault Blue Devils
Saturday May 12, 2012
Eskymos Overcome Mistakes; Win In Marquette
Thursday May 10, 2012
Indians Hang On To Beat Eskymos In Rivalry Battle
Wednesday May 9, 2012
DeHaan, Kleiman Lead Eskymos To Tourney Sweep
Sunday May 6, 2012
Eskymos Start Fast But Fall Again In Wisconsin 6-5
Friday May 4, 2012
Olsen Leads Eskymos To 12-2 Win At Stephenson
Wednesday May 2, 2012
Eskymos Beat Saginaw; Nearly Topple Mt. Pleasant
Sunday April 29, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Saginaw Showcase
Friday April 27, 2012
Eskymos Rally For Walk-Off Win Over Negaunee
Thursday April 26, 2012
Eskymos Top Stephenson In Sloppy Baseball Match
Tuesday April 24, 2012
Eskymos Struck By Lightning Twice In Appleton
Saturday April 21, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Beat Kingsford In Cold Rain
Friday April 20, 2012
Eskymos Shivver, Roll Past Norway Again, 17-0
Tuesday April 17, 2012
Eskymos Suffer Power Outage In Loss To Shawano
Saturday April 14, 2012
Delta County Boy Scouts Help Eskymos With Flag
Saturday April 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Rudyard To Start Big Homestand
Friday April 13, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Rip Norway To Go To 2-0
Wednesday April 11, 2012
Eskymos Open Season With Win Over Marquette
Tuesday April 10, 2012
Young Eskymos Ready For 2012 Baseball Season
Sunday April 8, 2012
Schwalbach Hired As New Eskymo Baseball Coach
Saturday March 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball, Softball Teams Start Practice
Friday March 16, 2012