News ticker

3347 articles
Thursday October 18, 2018
Northern Begins Homecoming With Statue, Movie

MARQUETTE---Northern Michigan University continued Homecoming activities on Friday with the unveiling of a new statue in the heart of campus.

It is named after former NMU Board member and 1960 graduate Gil Ziegler, and members of his family were on hand for the event.
 

The sun made a brief appearance, but there was a gusty cold wind off of Lake Superior as temperatures fell into the low 50's.

Northern Michigan University President Fritz Erickson helped to unveil the statue, which is located near Jamrich Hall.

The 1975 NMU national champion football team was also honored Friday with the playing of a documentary about the team's unlikely championship at the Forest Roberts Theatre. Members of that '75 team were on hand for the viewing of  the film.

The current NMU football team was inside the Superior Dome practicing ahead of Saturday's game against 6th-ranked Ferris State. Kickoff is 4:00. It will be broadcast live on WUPT-FM (100.3 The Point) and WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600).

Photos from both of Friday's events, and the Wildcat practice, are posted in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box at the top of this page. Also, watch a fill video of the statue uneviling and a snipet of the documentary.
 







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Fast Start Helps Cardinals Fly Past Wildcats, 30-10
Saturday October 13, 2018
ANOTHER TOUGH LOSS: Wildcats Fall At Home
Saturday October 6, 2018
'IT SLIPPED AWAY': Wildcat Football Falls In OT
Saturday September 29, 2018
Wildcats Fall To No. 6 Ferris State On Homecoming
Saturday September 22, 2018
Fast Start Helps Grand Valley Overwhelm Northern
Sunday September 16, 2018
Wildcats Face Huge Football Challenge On Saturday
Friday September 14, 2018
DOME, SWEET DOME: Wildcats Hold Off Falcons
Saturday September 8, 2018
NMU Holds Meet-and-Greet Open House At Dome
Wednesday September 5, 2018
MISSED OPPORTUNITIES: Wildcats Fall In Illinois
Saturday September 1, 2018
NMU Football Team Preparing For Season Opener
Friday August 31, 2018
FIRST STEP: Wildcats Have First Full-Pad Practice
Tuesday August 14, 2018
NMU Stops Printing Game Programs; Online Only
Monday August 13, 2018