News ticker

3492 articles
Wednesday January 23, 2019
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse basketball teams have been practicing for the past couple of weeks, and now they're ready to get on the court against another team.

The Norse will host Sault (Ont.) College in a pair of exhibition games on Saturday.

The teams gathered for Picture Day this week, and will host the Cougars at the Bay Gym, with the women tipping off at 1:00 and the men's game starting at 3:00.

The women's team has a new look, with double the number of players, and a new coach, from last year's inaugural season.

The ladies had seven players last year; this year, it's 15 girls, with new coach Rob Robinson. He comes to Escanaba after Norse Coach Rae Drake, Jr., took an assistant coaching job at Michigan Tech University.

The Norse will be led again by Jordan Kraemer, who averaged 20 points a game last season. Returners also include Paige Welch, Teidra Fuson, and Jordan Belleville.

The women will be looking to build on last year's 14-11 record, which included a win over Gogebic Community College, which advanced to the NJCAA Nationals last year.

The men's team had a 22-8 record last year, and returns a solid core of players this year, including Marcus McKenney, Alfonzo Fields, Tyler Willette, and Kobi Barnes.

Notable newcomers include 6-8, 230-pound center Chris Alexander, who comes to Bay from Great Britain. Escanaba Eskymo Ryan Robinette, who was an All-U.P. selection last year in his final high school season, will also be one of this year's leaders.

Click the above headline to see photos from the Norse Picture Day, and to hear interveiws with Alexander and Robinette, as well as Gladstone's Kaitlyn Hardwick and Taylor Hunter, and Coach Robinson.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018