News ticker

3539 articles
Friday February 22, 2019
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team outscored Western Technical College (Wis.), 14-5, in the middle of the second half to turn a one-point deficit into an eight-point lead, and the Norse pulled away for a 71-63 win on Saturday.

It is Bay's fourth win in a row after dropping two games in Iowa to start the season.

Kobi Barnes led four Norse players in double figures with 15 points, on 6-of-10 shooting from the floor. He had three blocked shots on the same play to end the first half, with the Norse holding a 34-26 lead entering the locker room.

The Cavaliers had missed 14 of the 16 three-point shots they took in the first half, but Mhalik Lindsey came out on fire in the second half, knocking down three triples.

The visitors from LaCrosse, Wis., took a 51-50 lead midway through the second half.

But sophomore Alfonzo Fields came through with five straight points, including a driving basket where he drew a foul.

He made the free throw and it was 55-51. Barnes also had a huge play where he stole an inbounds pass on top of the key, raced down the court, went to the basket, scored, and drew a foul. He also knocked down the foul shot.

Reggie Dean scored 12 points and nailed three triples off the bench, and Tyler Willette had ten points and pulled down six reounds. Barnes had nine rebounds and four blocks.

Bay College went to the foul line 40 times, making 23 of the shots. Western Tech had just eight free throw attempts, making four.

The Cavaliers also had four men score in double figures, led by Lindsey's 13 points. Joshua Brownlee scored eleven points.

The Norse (4-2) travel to Ironwood next Saturday to face Coach Matt Johnson's former team, Hibbing (Minn.) Community College. Game time is 4:00. It will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Bellville, and listen to our player spotlight interview with Ryan Robinette.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



TAILS NEVER FAILS: Bay To Host Men's Regional
Sunday February 17, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Beat Falcons, 79-65
Saturday February 16, 2019
Bay Whips Gogebic; Clinches Home Playoff Game
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay Norse Top Alpena Lumberjacks For Third Time
Monday February 11, 2019
HOME LOSS: Norse Men Can't Keep Up With B&S
Saturday February 9, 2019
COMING UP CLUTCH: Norse Win In Final Minute
Saturday February 2, 2019
SECOND HALF STRUGGLES: Norse Fall On Road
Sunday January 27, 2019
TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018