News ticker

3441 articles
Tuesday December 18, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81

IRONWOOD---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team outgunned the Hibbing (Minn.) Community College Cardinals, 96-81, Saturday at a tournament in Ironwood.

Rapid River graduate Logan Hardwick keyed a big start of the second half by scoring nine of his 19 points. Escanaba graduate Ryan Robinette also scored 19 points and Menominee graduate Marcus McKenney added 16 points.

The game featured a combined 66 three-point shot attempts, with Hibbing hoisting up 38 of them. Bay made 10-of-28 treys while the Cardinals made 15 of their 38.

Christian Alexander had 13 points, giving the Norse five players scoring in double figures. The freshman from Great Britain also led the Norse with eight rebounds.

The Norse led, 23-22, when the two teams started firing up three-pointer after three-pointer. In one stretch, there were six staright made triples, three by each team.

It was 43-34 at halftime, and then Hardwick keyed a 9-0 run to start the second half, making it a 52-34 game. The Cardinals closed two within 11 on one occassion, but could get no closer as Cade Contreras and Ryan Arndt both nailed three's off the bench.

Tyler Willette had seven points while Alfonzo Fields and Contreras both had six.

Amaun Ryan and David Faitha both had 19 points for the Cardinals (0-2).

The Norse have won five straight games and are now 5-2 on the season. They face Vermillion (Minn.) College Sunday at 1:00. The game will be broadcast live on WGMV-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Taylor Hunter. Also listen to interviews with Logan Hardwick, Coach Matt Johnson, and with Ryan Arndt.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018