• College Baseball 4/20: Bay College 28, Northern Michigan 3
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Appleton North 24, Escanaba 0, Gm1
  • Appleton North 10, Escanaba 1, Gm2
  • College Softball 4/20: Bay College 16, Gogebic Community College 0, Gm1
  • Bay College 12, Gogebic Community College 3, Gm2
3611 articles
Monday April 22, 2019
Nash, Eskymos Come From Behind To Win Opener

ESCANABA---The Escanaba High School basketball team rallied for a 61-57 win over the Negaunee Miners Tuesday night in their season opener.

Jared Nash got a steal and lay-up in the final seconds to seal the Eskymo win.

Negaunee closed the first half on a 10-0 run to take a 30-21 lead into the locker room.

The Miners held the lead throughout the entire second half, holding an eight point advantage in the game's final three minutes.

But the Eskymos rallied as Austin Willette got a basket and a foul, Craig Kamin streaked to the basket for a lay-up, and Nash scored inside.

Jakson Sager had an "and-one" in the lane, and Drew Lindberg drilled a three-pointer from NBA land.

Jason Waterman scored a three from the top of the key to tie the game at 55-55, but Carter Hudson followed a blocked shot with a putback to put Escanaba in front.

With 17.9 seconds left, the Miners were down, 59-57, and after a time out, set up for a possible tying basket (or winning three-pointer). But Nash stole the ball near the top of the key and went in all alone for the basket that ended the game for Escanaba.

Nash scored 16 points, Hudson added 12, and Kamin scored 11 for Escanaba.

Negaunee got 21 points from Lindberg, 16 from Sager, and 14 from Waterman.

Click the above headline to see photos, videos, and hear post-game comments from Jared Nash and Austin Willette.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



UP HS BOYS BASKETBALL PLAYOFF SCORES
Tuesday March 19, 2019
Eskymos Run Out Of Magic; Fall In Regional Final
Thursday March 7, 2019
Eskymos Sprint Past Boyne City In Regional Semis
Monday March 4, 2019
DISTRICT CHAMPIONS: Eskymos Run Past Braves
Friday March 1, 2019
RIVALRY VICTORY: Gladstone Outlasts Escanaba
Friday February 22, 2019
Big Second Half Leads Eskymos Past Gwinn, 71-53
Tuesday February 19, 2019
PAINT DOMINATION: Eskymos Roll Past Rockets
Friday February 8, 2019
FIRST VICTORY: Big Bay Soars Over Hannahville
Tuesday February 5, 2019
SEASON SWEEP: Eagles Outlast Broncos, 48-46
Tuesday February 5, 2019
TRAPPED: Broncos Turn Up Defense; Beat Knights
Monday January 21, 2019
DEFENSIVE BATTLE: Carney Outlasts Bark River
Thursday January 3, 2019
Willette Dominates In Esky Win Over Menominee
Friday December 28, 2018
Eskymo Comeback Falls Short Against Young Coggs
Thursday December 27, 2018
BR-H Broncos Hold Off Bobcats For Second Victory
Tuesday December 4, 2018