• HS Softball Finals 6/15: D2: Escanaba 7, Stevensville-Lakeshore 3
  • D1: Warren Regina 3, Howell 2 (8 Innings)
  • D4: Unionville-Sebewaing 3, Kalamazoo Christian 1
  • D3: Millington vs Schoolcraft
  • HS Baseball Finals 6/15: D1: Portage Northen 10, Rockford 4
  • D2: Orchard Lake St. Mary 8, Grand Rapids CC 1
  • D3: Homer 4, GPW University Liggett 0
  • D4: Saginaw Nouvel vs Petersburg-Summerfield
3678 articles
Saturday June 15, 2019
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper

This story was written by Mike Pankow, Bay College. RRN Photos, Videos

PALATINE, Ill.---The Bay College Men's Basketball Team (8-4) would pull away early and cruise to victory over the Harper College Hawks (1-8) on Friday night.

The Norse would walk away with a 75-47 victory on the road.
 

The two teams would trade the lead early and be tied at four in the early going.

An 18-2 Bay College run would give the Norse control of the game for good.  Bay would create 17 first half turnovers by the Hawks to create a commanding lead.  Harper would trail by a wide margin, with the score standing at 42-23 at the half.
 

The Hawks would make adjustments in the second half to limit turnovers, but the Norse would limit their opportunities by outrebounding their hosts 31-14 in the second half.

Bay College would shoot 14 of 34 in the second half, good for 32.6%. 

The Hawks would get just 28 attempts and only hit on nine of them in the second half, including going just one of six from behind the three-point arc.  The Norse would secure 22 offensive rebounds in the game, creating 17 second chance points.  Bay would lead by as many as 30 points down the stretch, and wind up with a 28-point victory.
 

Head Coach Matt Johnson talked about his team's effort.
 

"Our bench stepped up again and played well.  All twelve of our guys scored.  Our bench outscored theirs 40-0.  Our depth continues to be one of our strengths.  It was a great start to the weekend.  Now we need to make sure we are ready to play against a very good Milwaukee Area Tech team tomorrow."
 

Logan Hardwick (FR, Rapid River, MI) would record a double-double on the night.  He would end with ten points and grab 16 rebounds.  

Alfonzo Fields (SO, Milwaukee, WI) would add ten points, while Tyler Willette(SO, Escanaba, MI) would add nine points.
 

Marshall Davis (FR, Hoffman Estates, IL) would lead all scorers with 14 points while grabbing seven rebounds for the Hawks.  James Allen (FR, Hoffman Estates, IL) would end his night with 13 points and eight rebounds, while Brendan Thompson (FR, Hoffman Estates, IL) would score 13 points and collect and collect six rebounds.
 

Bay College's Saturday afternoon matchup against Milwaukee Area Technical College will start at 3 PM Eastern. The game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos, and listen to post-game comments from Luke Mattson and Coach Johnson, and Marcus McKenney's player spotlight interview.
 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Wednesday February 27, 2019
TAILS NEVER FAILS: Bay To Host Men's Regional
Sunday February 17, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Beat Falcons, 79-65
Saturday February 16, 2019
Bay Whips Gogebic; Clinches Home Playoff Game
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay Norse Top Alpena Lumberjacks For Third Time
Monday February 11, 2019
HOME LOSS: Norse Men Can't Keep Up With B&S
Saturday February 9, 2019
COMING UP CLUTCH: Norse Win In Final Minute
Saturday February 2, 2019
SECOND HALF STRUGGLES: Norse Fall On Road
Sunday January 27, 2019
TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018