News ticker

3492 articles
Wednesday January 23, 2019
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70

MILWAUKEE---Five Bay College Norse basketball players had a homecoming on Saturday, playing in their hometown of Milwaukee for the first time.

Bay battled hard for the first half, but were blitzed in the second half by the Milwaukee Tech Stormers, and the Norse came home with a 98-70 loss.

Sophomores Alfonzo Fields and Kobi Barnes, and freshmen Deandre Magsby and Reggie Dean both played on the Alverno College court for the first time in a Norse uniform, while sophomore Dontae Ellis is still recovering from an injury suffered nearly a year ago.

The gym was packed with MATC supporters, as well as family and friends of the five Norse players from Milwaukee.

It was rocking late in the first half when Justin Wofford slammed one home, and then Shannon Sanford followed with a dunk-and-one.

The Norse responded after a time out when Barnes drove the baseline and threw down perhaps his strongest slam dunk of his career, leading to an explosion of applause in the gym. Then Barnes and Fields combined at half court to get a steal, and the Norse converted at the other end of the court to tie the game at 32-32.

But the Stormers responded with a 14-7 spurt to end the first half, concluding with a buzzer-beating three-pointer from NBA distance after a Norse turnover.

The Norse scored the first basket of the second half to close to within 46-41, but that's as close as the score would get, as the Stormers dominated in every aspect of the game.

The Norse were forced into a total of 36 turnovers, and were ice cold from the field. At the same time, Milwaukee Tech had two more dunks, three triples, and 52 points in the half.

Barnes had a double-double, scoring 17 points and grabbing 12 rebounds while blocking three shots.  Fields ended up with 12 points, eight rebounds, and four assists.

Sanford led Milwaukee Tech (9-2) with 28 points. Yuri Swinford would add 15 points and nine rebounds, while D'Angelo Young-Pryor wound up with 12 points and nine rebounds.

The Norse (8-5) will participate in the Gogebic Winter Classic next weekend before taking a break for the Holidays.  On Friday they will meet Western Tech for the second time this season at 5 PM.  On November 17 the Norse hosted Western Tech and won that matchup 71-63.  On Saturday Bay College will meet up with Leach Lake Tribal College at 1 PM.

Both games will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, listen to an interview with Kobi Barnes and Alfonzo Fields, and post-game comments from Coach Matt Johnson.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018