• Men's College Soccer 9/22: Northern Michigan 2, Upper Iowa 0
  • HS Girls Tennis 9/23: Negaunee at Escanaba
  • Gladstone at Ishpeming
3816 articles
Monday September 23, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory

ESCANABA---The Bay College women's basketball team shook off a sluggish first quarter and rolled to a 76-49 win over the Alpena Community College Lumberjills Saturday night in Escanaba.

It was Bay College's sixth straight win, with two of them coming over Alpena.

The Norse led, 15-13, after the first quarter, before catching fire for 25 points in the second quarter to take command of the game.

And it was Keshia Davis, who's known mostly for her tough plays in the paint, who got things going for the Norse from downtown. Davis took a pass from JuliAnn Wickman at the top of the key and swished a three-point basket to give Bay a 25-20 lead.

Then Kelsea Ackerman got a steal at half court and fed it to Jordan Kraemer for a basket, and the momentum switched in Bay's direction.

The Norse led at the half, 40-25, then put the game away when Haley Trudell nailed back-to-back three-pointers to start the third quarter. 

Kraemer led all scorers with 21 points, and she grabbed nine rebounds. She made all seven of her free throw attempts, and did her work in just 23 minutes of play.

Freshman Kaitlyn Hardwick had her best game in a Norse uniform with ten points and eight rebounds. She made all three of her field goal attempts and all four free throws.

In all, eleven different Norse players scored. Bay outrebounded Alpena, 47-36.

Taylor Liviningston led Alpena (0-7) with 14 points. Shelby Seaver scored ten.

Bay College (10-5) will take on Milwaukee Tech at 2:00 Sunday afternoon. The game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 and at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Alpena will face Gogebic Community College at 10:00 Sunday morning.


Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Belleville. Also listen to interviews with Jordan Belleville, Kaitlyn Hardwick, and Coach Rob Robinson.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Announce Eight Women's Basketball Recruits
Monday June 24, 2019
END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018