News ticker

3492 articles
Wednesday January 23, 2019
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win

ESCANABA---The Bay College men's basketball team set a gym record for points scored in an easy 116-76 win for the Norse over Alpena Community College Saturday night.

The Norse broke the record of 113 set against Alpena earlier this season, and the 114 that was scored earlier in the day by Milwaukee Tech against Gogebic.

Every Norse player on the roster scored at least one basket, incluing Darien Nichols, who returned from an ankle injury to sink a three-pointer as the shot clock expired, as well as a pair of free throws.

Dondre Yohe also scored for the first time while coming back from an injury that has sidelined him for the better part of the season.

Alfonzo Fields scored 17 points in the first half, including a buzzer-beater to end the first half to extend the Norse lead to 52-38 heading into the locker room. The second half saw Christian Alexander electrify the large holiday crowd with a pair of slam dunks and 12 points.

Alexander also made six of his seven free throw attempts.

In all, Bay had six players reach double figures. Reggie Dean had 13 points, ten of which came in the second half. Dean also added eight rebounds to lead the team on the glass, and one of his baskets was a slam dunk late in the second half.

Ryan Arndt added 14 points, with four three-point baskets and a pair of free throws. Kobi Barnes had 12 points, including a slam dunk on a Marcus McKenney feed in the first half. Logan Hardwick came off the bench and added ten points.

Cade Contreras played a team-high 24 minutes and scored three points, dished out six assists, had two steals, and took a charge on defense.

Alpena (0-7) has given up more than 110 points in five of its seven losses, including twice to the Norse. Tim Hopkins led the Lumberjacks with 20 points and Garett Miller added 13 points. Isaac Hogsett and Oliver Rice both scored 11 points.

The Norse shot 13-of-28 from three-point territory as a team and made 21 of their 32 free throw attempts. The defense forced 23 Alpena turnovers.

Bay College improved to 11-5 on the season and will take on Milwaukee Tech Sunday afternoon at 4:00. The game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com. Alpena faces Gogebic at noon on Sunday.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Belleville. Also listen to interviews with Contreras, Alexander, and student manager Curtis Aiken.











Choose team:
No schedule entries



TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018