• HS Girls BB Quarterfinal 3/20: St. Ignace 76, Baraga 45
  • Lake City 50, Westwood 46
3581 articles
Thursday March 21, 2019
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena

ESCANABA---The Gogebic Community College Samsons won a pair of games on Sunday in Escanaba, turning back Alpena Community College, 65-58 in the women's game, and 83-71 in the men's contest. The Lady Samsons improved to 10-7 on the season while the Gogebic men's team celebrated its second win of the season against 14 losses.

Both of Alpena's teams fell to 0-8 on the season.

The women's game was close all the way, and Alpena led, 41-39, entering the fourth quarter.

But Gogebic outscored the Lumberjills, 26-17, in that final quarter, with Bailey Froberg doing much of the damage with three clutch baskets down the stretch.

Aiyana Nickel's basket broke a 46-46 tie for the Lady Samsons, then moments later, a basket and a triple from Froberg made it 53-48. A jumper from Ariana White made it a 56-48 game and the Samsons played "keep away" from there.

Froberg had 21 points while Nickel had a double-double of 12 points and 10 rebounds. White chipped in eleven points and five asssists for Gogebic. Alpena was led by Shelby Seaver's 18 points and ten rebounds.

In the men's game, Gogebic used a 23-5 run to end the first half to build an 18-point halftime lead, and even though Alpena cut it to six in the second half, the Samsons pulled away again to pick up a rare victory.

Mitch Borseth led the way with three straight long jumpers during that late first-half rally, and Steven Nelson had a putback, two free throws, and two offensive boards. Borseth ended up with 27 points and nine rebounds. Nelson had 18 points and ten rebounds, and Brayden Tomes chipped in 15 points

The Lumberjacks were led by Tim Hopkins with 20 points, while Logan Guenther had a monster game, scoring 15 points and pulling down 18 rebounds.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, video clips from Sunday's games.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Wednesday February 27, 2019
TAILS NEVER FAILS: Bay To Host Men's Regional
Sunday February 17, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Beat Falcons, 79-65
Saturday February 16, 2019
Bay Whips Gogebic; Clinches Home Playoff Game
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay Norse Top Alpena Lumberjacks For Third Time
Monday February 11, 2019
HOME LOSS: Norse Men Can't Keep Up With B&S
Saturday February 9, 2019
COMING UP CLUTCH: Norse Win In Final Minute
Saturday February 2, 2019
SECOND HALF STRUGGLES: Norse Fall On Road
Sunday January 27, 2019
TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018