News ticker

3492 articles
Wednesday January 23, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again

ESCANABA---The Milwaukee Area Technical College Stormers jumped all over the Bay College Norse on Sunday, taking a 29-3 lead in the first five minutes and cruising to a 108-74 win at the Bay College YMCA Gym.

Norse Coach Matt Johnson put it bluntly moments after the game ended.

"They just came into our gym and embarrassed us," Johnson said.

The last time the teams played, two weeks ago in Milwaukee, the Stormers also won by a wide margin, 98-70. But in that game, the Norse competed much better, trailing by just five points one minute into the second half.

Not this time.

All 13 Stormer players scored, and the speed of the visiting team, along with its athleticism, was evident from start to finish. There were several dunks, eleven three-pointers, and 49 rebounds. Milwaukee Tech made 43-of-85 shots from the field. Simply put: dominating.

The three Milwaukee men on the Bay College roster carried much of the load, combining to score 55 of the Norse 74 points. Kobi Barnes scored 22 points and grabbed seven rebounds, Reggie Dean made five triples and scored 19 points, and Alfonzo Fields scored 14 points and grabbed six boards. Beyond those three, there wasn't much else.

Shannon Sanford led the Stormers with 15 points, while D'Angelo Young-Pryor added 14 and Nakill Martin chipped in 13.

The only negative, perhaps, for the Stormers is they were in severe foul trouble for most of the night, limiting some players' minutes.

The stormers improved to 13-2 on the season. Bay College fell to 11-6.

The Norse travel to Canada on Thursday for a scrimmage, then get back on the court Saturday afternoon against Silver Lake College.

Game time is 3:00. It will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and to hear Alfonzo Fields' player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018