• LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Kingsford 14, Rockford 10
  • Jackson SW 5, Ishpeming 4
  • American Legion Zones 7/21: Gladstone 9, Marquette 3
3739 articles
Tuesday July 23, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39

ESCANABA---The Bay College women's basketball team shook off a sluggish start and rolled past the University of Wisconsin-Marinette Buccaneers, 69-34, Saturday afternoon in Escanaba. The Norse won for the eleventh time in their last 12 games.

The Norse fellk behind, 6-0, and took more than five minutes to get their first points on the board. They eventually ramped up the defensive intensity, forcing numerous Marinette turnovers, with the Bucs often unable to get the ball across half-court.

Paige Welch had two baskets and a foul shot, and JuliAnn Wickman knocked down a triple and two-point basket as the Norse grabbed a 15-8 lead. In the second quarter, UW-Marinette's Faith Jorasz of Bark River-Harris sank a triple and two-pointer off the bench, but Wickman scored two more baskets and Bay led, 30-20, at halftime.

Marinette struggled even more in the third quarter, as the Bucs did not score a basket and was limited to five free throws in that ten minutes of playing time. Wickman added two more baskets and Jordan Kraemer scored twice and the Norse led, 48-25.

Wickman led the Norse with 15 points off the bench. Welch had 11 points and pulled down eight rebounds. Haley Trudell knocked down two triples off the bench as well.

Kraemer added eight points and nine rebounds for the Norse.

Marinette did not have a player score in double figures, with Jenna Thill leading the way with eight points. The Bucs fell to 7-2 on the year, with both losses coming to Bay.'

The Norse (16-6) will host the Lake Superior State University Junior Varsity team Tuesday night at 6:00. The game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and video clips, and listen to Kaitlyn Hardwick's halftime interview. Also listen to BR-H graduate Mason Korhonen interview classmate Welch.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Announce Eight Women's Basketball Recruits
Monday June 24, 2019
END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018