• College Baseball 4/20: Bay College 28, Northern Michigan 3
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Appleton North 24, Escanaba 0, Gm1
  • Appleton North 10, Escanaba 1, Gm2
  • College Softball 4/20: Bay College 16, Gogebic Community College 0, Gm1
  • Bay College 12, Gogebic Community College 3, Gm2
3611 articles
Monday April 22, 2019
HOME LOSS: Norse Men Can't Keep Up With B&S

ESCANABA---The Bay College men's basketball team had the lead early in the second half, but Bryant & Stratton went on a 22-5 run and pulled away for a 88-75 win Saturday in Escanaba. It was the second loss of the season for the Norse against the Bobcats, who received votes in the latest NJCAA national poll.

The Bobcats nailed 14 three-point baskets (by eigght different players)  in their victory.

Bay College trailed, 44-43, at halftime, but took a 49-47 lead two minutes into the second half.

The Bobcats, led by point guard Justen Brookens, scored twelve straight points to turn momentum in their favor. When the 22-5 run was over, the visitors led, 69-54.

Norse freshman Ryan Arndt tried his best to keep his team in the game. The Bark River-Harris graduate sank five three-point baskets in the second half, and he had six triples altogether and finished with a career-high 18 points. Bay couldn't get the deficit back under ten points, however.

Brookens scored 26 points to lead all scorers. Kyle McDermed added 21 points and Manny Jingco added eleven. Bryant & Stratton improved its record to 20-7.

Bay College struggled at the guard position, with Alfonzo Fields making just two of his 14 field goal attempts. Ryan Robinette shot just 4-of-14 (and 2-of-10 from downtown).

Inside the paint, Kobi Barnes made five of his six field goal attempts, and he made five free throws, to finish with 15 points. Fellow big-man Christian Alexander made all three of his field goals, although Tyler Willette shot an uncharacteristic 1-for-6 from tje field.

Bay College fell to 16-9 on the season, and 0-4 against the two Milwaukee-area schools.

The Norse look to get back on track Monday night in Alpena. The game starts at 7:30 and will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and to hear comments from Coach Matt Johnson.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Wednesday February 27, 2019
TAILS NEVER FAILS: Bay To Host Men's Regional
Sunday February 17, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Beat Falcons, 79-65
Saturday February 16, 2019
Bay Whips Gogebic; Clinches Home Playoff Game
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay Norse Top Alpena Lumberjacks For Third Time
Monday February 11, 2019
COMING UP CLUTCH: Norse Win In Final Minute
Saturday February 2, 2019
SECOND HALF STRUGGLES: Norse Fall On Road
Sunday January 27, 2019
TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions
Wednesday November 7, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018