• Men's College Soccer 9/22: Northern Michigan 2, Upper Iowa 0
  • HS Girls Tennis 9/23: Negaunee at Escanaba
  • Gladstone at Ishpeming
3816 articles
Monday September 23, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena

ALPENA---The Bay College women’s basketball team went on a 14-0 run in the fourth quarter to avoid an upset Monday night. The Norse pulled out a 57-49 win to beat the Lumberjills for the third time this season.

The game was filled with fouls, and Alpena ended up having two of its seven available players foul out in the contest. But when Taylor Livingston knocked down a three-pointer early in the fourth quarter, Alpena had a 44-41 lead.

The Norse ramped up the defense from there, and JuliAnn Wickman’s three-pointer off a Jordan Belleville pass allowed Bay to regain the lead.

Then it was Gladstone graduate Kaitlyn Hardwick who stepped up with four steals in a three-minute stretch, and the Norse pulled away down the stretch to secure the win.

Early in the game, the Norse struggled to score, except for Jordan Kraemer, who scored 13 points in the first eleven minutes of the contest.

She had to go to the bench with three fouls in the second quarter, however, and the Norse had to settle for a 29-26 lead at halftime.

Haley Trudell’s three-pointer in the third quarter put the Norse ahead, 34-28, but Bay went into a long offensive dry spell before Brooke Dalgord gave them a boost off the bench with a basket and foul free throws.

The game was tied heading into the fourth quarter.

Kraemer scored 20 points to lead the Norse, who have won 16 of their last 17 games. The Norway High School graduate is now 26 points shy of the 1,000 mark for her two-year Norse career.

Wickman had eight points and Belleville also chipped in eight points. Hardwick had seven, including three free throws, to go along with her defensive statistics.

Livingston had 13 points and Jasmyn Schultz added 12 for Alpena (2-17).

Bay College (19-6) will host Gogebic Community College on Wednesday in an important regional match-up. If the Norse win, they clinch home –court advantage for the first round playoff game, which will also be against Gogebic. Wednesday’s game starts at 6:00, and it will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos. Also listen to Hardwick’s post-game comments, and Brooke Dalgord’s player spotlight interview.

---MORE---








Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Announce Eight Women's Basketball Recruits
Monday June 24, 2019
END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018