• U.P. Baseball 6/19: Marquette at Gladstone
  • Menominee at Escanaba
  • Iron Mountain at Gladstone
  • Marquette vs Bark River
  • Bark River at Escanaba
4153 articles
Saturday June 6, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76

INVER GROVE HTS, Minn.---The Bay College men’s basketball team rallied from 16 points down in the second half Wednesday night and beat the Dakota County Technical College Blue Knights, 80-76, in suburban Minneapolis.

It was the first of four regional seeding games for the Norse, with two coming up against Gogebic Community College and a rematch with DCTC in ten days in Escanaba.

The Blue Knights were playing without their leading scorer, Harlyn Owens (22.6 ppg), who sat out with an injury. Even so, DCTC overcame two Christian Alexander slam dunks in the first half to take a 41-32 lead into the locker room.

Deshawn Walker and Lorenzo Smith both scored eight points in the paint during that first half for DCTC, and Amitri Collins-Westlund ended the first half with a triple from half court at the buzzer to complete a 12-0 Blue Knights run.

But in the second half, Chris Dobessi took over at both ends of the court. He scored 16 of his game-high 25 points in the second half, and Alexander was equally dominating, scoring 17 points and grabbing eleven rebounds.

Dobessi had 12 rebounds to go with his 25 points.
 
The Norse trailed, 66-58, with 6:48 to play after Westlund sank another triple. But Matt Wagner, playing on a bum ankle from a weekend injury, answered with a three of his own moments later.

That started a 17-5 run that included a Ryan Robinette driving “and-one” basket and a coast-to-coast drive by Dobessi.

That happened right after Marcus Harris, in the game for a defense-offense switch, took a key charge that gave the Norse a momentum-sustaining possession.

Wagner had 13 points and five rebounds, and Robinette contributed 11 points, five rebounds, and four assists.

Tristan Masuga added 12 points as he made five of his shots from the floor. Walker had a double-double of ten points and ten rebounds for DCTC (11-6 overall). Collins-Westlund led the Blue Knights with 21 points. Smith and Daevonte Munson both had 14 points.

Bay College improved to 11-6 on the season and won their fourth straight game.

The Norse travel to Alpena Community College Saturday night. Tip-off is 7:30.

The game will be broadcast on WGMV-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and listen to post-game comments from Dobessi, Alexander, and Coach Matt Johnson. Also hear Alexander’s player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019