• College Softball 3/13: Bay College 9, Chesapeake (Maryland) 1
  • College Baseball 3/13: Bay College 3, Northwestern Minnesota 0
4153 articles
Friday June 5, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64

CHICAGO---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team had a war on its hands for a second straight day on Saturday, and the Norse pulled out another tight victory in their regular season finale, 71-64, over Truman College.

The win allowed the Norse to finish the regular season with a 19-9 record, and it was the team's third win in four days, all of them on the road, and in three different gyms.

Saturday's game was a physical battle similiar to Friday night's game. That contest saw the Norse beat Daley College, 72-66.

CLICK HERE to read the details of Friday night's win.

On Saturday, the Norse trailed, 7-6, two minutes into the game before Matt Wagner knocked down a triple to put Bay in front. They would never lose that lead, but sure didn't make it easy on themselves as the athletic Hawks hung around all afternoon.

Christian Alexander scored six early points, but spent the rest of the day in foul trouble and eventually fouled out. He wasn't the only one to be saddled with fouls, as Marcus Harris, Chris Dobessi, and Luke Mattson all were whistled for four fouls each.

The Norse led, 18-10, when Ryan Robinette knocked down a three-pointer, and the lead grew to 28-19 in the final two minutes when Harris nailed a triple. Robinette hit another three-pointer just before halftime to give Bay College a 33-24 lead.

The Hawks kept clawing, though, closing to within 35-28 at halftime.

In the seccond half, Chris Dobessi attacked the basket on two straight plays, scooping one home for two and getting to the foul line for a pair of free throws. He led the Norse with 16 points and 15 rebounds, and he had two steals.

Bay kept leads of between seven and 12 points over the final ten minutes, but just like in last year's match-up, they couldn't put the Hawks away until the final minute.

That's when Robinette, who had a frustrating game for much of the afternoon, attacked the basket for a scoop shot that gave the Norse a seven-point lead.

Robinette finished the game with 14 points (on 5-for-18 shooting) and six rebounds.

Harris was active all afternoon long, diving after loose balls and playing lock-down defense on Truman's Raymond Grant. Harris, a Brimley High School graduate, also knocked down a pair of three-point baskets and finished with eleven points.

Wagner scored 13 points, knocking down three triples, and he had three assists and four rebounds. 

Truman College (7-19 overall) was led by 11 points each from Grant and Austin Freeman. Coby San Juan had ten points and Michael Harris contributed eight.

Bay College finished its regular season with a 19-9 record and top seed in the eastern half of the NJCAA Region 13 tournament. The Norse earned a first round bye and will play next on Wednesday, Feb. 26, against the winner of the Dakota County Technical College vs Gogebic Community College game. That game is set for Feb. 22 in Minneapolis.

The Norse playoff game will be played at 8 p.m. on Feb. 26 and it will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Harris and Coach Johnson. Also hear Ryan Robinette's player spotlight interview.











Choose team:
No schedule entries



COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019