News ticker

2937 articles
Thursday December 14, 2017
Broncos Hope Increased Numbers Will Equal Wins

HARRIS---The Bark River-Harris High School football team is hoping that an infusion of senior talent will help the team return to the win column when this season begins later this month. The team is holding spirited two-a-day practices in preparation for the season, with Friday being the first day that contact and full pads were allowed.

"It's really good," BR-H wide receiver Kadin Mustafa said. "Everyone's working hard. I think we're gonna have a great season this year. Since we have more numbers, we can put more people on the field, and give people some breaks, and we're gonna win more football games."

"I think the first week is going great," BR-H fullback Mike Hall said. "Everyone's giving it lots of effort, and we have a lot more kids going out, which is great. We have more players, so that means more reserves, so on kickoffs and kick returns, we can give people breaks, which is great. It (the schedule) will be tough, but we'll do just fine.""

The Broncos enter the 2017 season as one of the only Class D schools still playing eleven-man football in the Upper Peninsula, as many have switched to eight-man ball.

Last season, the Broncos struggled with injuries at key positions and ended up with a 3-and-6 record. But this season, the Broncos have better numbers, with a total of 23 players on the varsity roster, including several seniors who did not play as juniors.

"Last year, we were difinitely depleted," BR-H Coach Al Stenberg said. "We started with around 18 kids on varsity, with several sophomores up. We lost a handful of kids throughout the course of the year, and finished with eleven healthy juniors and seniors. This year, we have some guys who were sophomores last year who got a lot of experience, so we expect them to play like seniros, rather than juniors."

BR-H opens its season at home on August 25 against West Iron County.

Also, Meet the Broncos is set for this Sunday night, August 13, at 6:00, at the school.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHIGHTS box above to see photos, video interviews with Hall and Stenberg, and audio with Mustafa.





Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



Grand Rapids CC Ends Eskymo Dream Season, 24-0
Saturday November 18, 2017
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Saturday November 18, 2017
JUMP FOR JOY! Eskymos Win Regional Title 39-21
Friday November 10, 2017
Eskymos Rout Alma; Repeat As District Champions
Friday November 3, 2017
Kingsford Starts Strong, Rolls Past Gladstone 56-26
Friday October 27, 2017
Eskymos Crush John Glenn; Host Alma Next Friday
Friday October 27, 2017
Flivvers, Eskymos Lead GNC All-Conference Teams
Thursday October 26, 2017
Mid-Eastern Football Conference Picks Announced
Tuesday October 24, 2017
MPC '17 Football All-Conference Teams Announced
Monday October 23, 2017
Eskymos, Flivvers Wrap Up Football Regular Season
Friday October 20, 2017
MISSED OPPORTUNITIES: Braves Fall To Calumet
Friday October 20, 2017
Gladstone Rallies To Finish MPC Conference Season
Friday October 13, 2017
Eskymo JV Football Rolls To 41-0 Win Over Oconto
Tuesday October 10, 2017
Cheboygan Wins Escanaba Elks Volleyball Tourney
Saturday October 7, 2017
Escanaba Dominates Gladstone In Showdown, 35-14
Friday October 6, 2017
Escanaba Freshmen Roll; Varsity Showdown Friday
Thursday October 5, 2017
Escanaba JV's Pull Away To Earn Win In Gladstone
Tuesday October 3, 2017
HOMECOMING SETBACK: Broncos Lose To Lakes
Saturday September 30, 2017
PLAYOFF BOUND: Gladstone Stays Unbeaten, 13-0
Friday September 29, 2017
LONG TIME COMING: Escanaba Beats Menominee
Friday September 29, 2017
Gladstone Homecoming Begins With Girls Football
Monday September 25, 2017
Braves Survive Tough Challenge To Win MPC Title
Friday September 22, 2017
HOMECOMING WINNER: Eskymos Blast Soo 35-6
Friday September 22, 2017
MID PEN WARFARE: Gladstone Passes Test, 20-12
Friday September 15, 2017
OFFENSIVE BATTLE: Eskymos Roll Past Redmen
Friday September 15, 2017
Gladstone Hosting Veterans Football Game Friday
Tuesday September 12, 2017
Eskymos Pick Up Huge Victory Over Detroit Loyola
Saturday September 9, 2017
Gladstone Rolls Past Negaunee For Third Win, 43-0
Friday September 8, 2017
Braves Dominate Injury-Plagued Manistique, 44-6
Friday September 1, 2017
Bark River-Harris Rolls To Victory Over Marion, 64-6
Friday September 1, 2017
Braves Dominate Gwinn In First Conference Game
Friday August 25, 2017
Gladstone Schools Make Changes To Athletic Codes
Wednesday August 23, 2017
Gladstone Fall Teams Gather For 'Meet The Braves'
Sunday August 20, 2017
Braves Football Confident Entering New Conference
Tuesday August 15, 2017
Eskymos Confident As 2017 Football Practice Begins
Monday August 7, 2017