News ticker

3312 articles
Wednesday September 19, 2018
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team had a successful debut Wednesday night, leading from start to finish and beating the University of Wisconsin-Marinette, 95-35, at the Northern Lights YMCA Gym.

Norway High School graduate Jordan Kraemer scored 31 points and Bark River-Harris grad Paige Welch poured in 27, to go along with strong defense at the other end.

Bay College rolled to a 19-5 lead after the first quarter before a jam-packed crowd in the first-ever women's college basketball game played in Delta County.

And after the Norse put 30 more points on the board in the second quarter (15 of them by Kraemer) to lead 49-22 at the half, it was on cruise ocntrol the rest of the night.

"The shooting was contagious tonight," Bay College Women's Coach Rae Drake, Jr. said. "One person hit, than a person hit, then another. Tonight, we shot the ball extremely well."

"And I thought if they had a good shot, they gave it up to get a better shot."

"That was crazy," Welch said. "It was a fun game. I wasn't really expecting it to be that awesome. Coach really stresses the fact that we need to get a couple of passes off before getting a shot. We all want to see success in each other. We don't really care who scores the points. It was good. It's really important to have each others' backs, no matter what."

The Norse made life tough for Marinette's Tori Wangerin, the Stephenson High School graduate who was runner-up for the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference a year ago. Wangerin was held to seven points, with only one basket and five free throws.

"We knew that we had to get in there and stop Tori, because she's a pretty big threat down low," Welch said. "We were stressing that a lot at practice."

Justice Kinnunen of Baraga added 15 points, and Jordan Belleville of St. Ignace scored 14 as the Norse had four ladies finish in double figures.

"I think we were in real good physical shape," Drake said. "I think we petered out a bit in the last quarter, but our conditioning, I think that's a big difference."

Bay College is back in action on Friday in Mason City, Iowa, against Ellsworth Community College. Game time is 3:00 ET. It will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to hear interviews with Drake, Kraemer, and Welch, as well as some radio replays and a video of a Kinnunen three-point play.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47
Wednesday February 7, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On
Saturday December 16, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36
Sunday November 26, 2017
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing
Saturday November 25, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017