News ticker

3092 articles
Monday April 23, 2018
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley

APPLETON---It seems like it wouldn't be a Bay College Norse men's basketball game without it going down to the wire. For the fourth time in six games, a Norse game was decided on a final possession, and this time, the Norse got the victory.

Bay College rallied from ten points down in the final seven minutes to post an 83-82 win over the UW-Fox Valley Cyclones Tuesday night in Appleton. The Norse got a big second half from their guards and then had to hang on in the final seconds to get the win.

The win was the third in a row for the Norse, after they lost their first three games in heartbreaking fashion, with two of those coming in overtime.

The Norse trailed, 72-62, with seven minutes left before Dre Tuominen and Marcus McKenney brought them back. And fellow guard Alfonzo Fields made plays on both ends of the court in key moments as Bay went on a 19-4 run to take an 81-76 lead in the final minute. But in typical Norse fashion, they had to hang on from there as well.

Fox Valley made eleven three-point baskets, including one to with 2:29 left to get to within 81-79. Then after an empty Norse trip, the Cyclones were able to get inside for the tying basket. But they made the mistake of fouling Tuominen, and the Negaunee High School graduate drained a pair of charity shots with exactly one minute left to put the Norse ahead, 83-81.

The Norse played great defense over that final minute, forcing two empty trips by the Cyclones, but Dontae Krizenesky had a chance to tie at the line.

He made just one of two free throws, making it an 83-82 contest.

The Norse had a chance to up by three, but Fields missed the front end of a one-and-one. Fields attoned for that miss by hussling back on defense and getting a steal with 1.9 seconds to play.

After Tuominen also missed a foul shot, a Cyclone desperation heave was well short. Fox Valley had run out of time outs and couldn't set up a play.

Tuominen had six points in the first half, but went on a scoring spree in the second half, scoring 20 points, including a pair of triples.

And McKenney, a Menominee native, who has struggled the past four games, was able to get it going in this one. He scored 16 of his 19 points in the second half, and made two three-pointers in clutch moments as the N0rse were making their comeback.

Escanaba High School graduate Tyler Willette had another solid game. He had 13 points and grabbed seven rebounds, and had a big "and one" early in the second half to help jump start the Norse rally. Fields had 14 points; Tuominen led the way with 26.

Fox Valley had five players score in double figures, with Jason Gurholt leading the way with 17, including five three-point baskets.

Bay College (3-3) hosts the Lake Superior State University Junior Lakers next Monday night. The game starts at 7:30 and will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3), and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and video highlights, and listen to interviews with McKenney, Tuominen, as well as the player spotlight interview with Garrett Finkbeiner.







Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017