News ticker

3059 articles
Wednesday March 21, 2018
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win

IRONWOOD---The Bay College men's basketball team scored a modern school record 101 points and beat the Hibbing (Minn.) Cardinals, 101-78, Saturday at the Lindquist Holiday Classic at Gogebic Community College in Ironwood.

Five Norse players reached double figures, led by Tyler Willette's 23 points.

Bay pounded the ball inside early on to get the Cardinals' top player, Aaron Musburger, into foul trouble.

The strategy worked as Kobi Barnes and the rest of the Norse "bigs" moved the ball inside, and Musberger had to sit the bench with three fouls and no points. Then in the second half, after Musberger scored ten points, Mid Peninsula graduate Damian Richmond caught Musberger in the air, landing him his fourth foul.

Musberger would eventually foul out with 11 points in just 14 minutes of court time.

At the other end, Willette continued his early-season surge by cutting to the basket and taking nice passes from Dre Tuominen, Marcus McKenney, and Barnes. Willette , an Escanaba High School graduate, scored 18 of his points in the first half.

McKenney, a Menominee High School graduate, was on target, making six of the seven shots he took. He finished with 16 points and grabbed eight rebounds.

Barnes continued to impress inside the paint, and on the baseline, putting up 17 points and pulling down seven rebounds. Richmond scored a career-high 13 points, including nine of eleven from the foul line. Bay College made 34 of 46 free throws in the contest.

Rasonte Smith had ten points. All eleven Norse players who are on the trip scored.

Bay led just 33-30 before closing the first half on a 19-5 run, keyed by Willette.

Then after Musberger got hot to briefly bring his team to within twelve points, the Norse switched to a full-court press defense andwent on another 11-1 run to put the game away.

The win was sweet for Norse Head Coach Matt Johnson, who coached the Cardinals for eight years before coming home to Delta County.

Bay improved to 5-3 on the season after suffering three tight closes to begin its first campaign in four decades. The Norse return to action on Sunday with a game against UW-Sheboygan, which lost to Gogebic Community College, 82-75, in Saturday's late game. Tip-off on Sunday is scheduled for 1:00 ET on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see video highlights and hear interviews with Barnes, Richmond, and Johnson.

Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content

Choose team:
No schedule entries

FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017