News ticker

3269 articles
Saturday August 18, 2018
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36

IRONWOOD---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team faced a nationally-ranked top ten junior college squad for the second time this season on Sunday, falling to Highland Community College out of Kansas, 74-36, at the Lindquist Classic in Ironwood.

The Scotties entered the game ranked No. 6 in the nation with a 9-0 record, and they were averaging an incredible 108.9 points per game in those nine contests.

It appeared they would go over the 100-point mark again as the Scotties outscored the Norse 30-6 in the second quarter and raced to a 52-16 halftime lead.

But Bay held Highland to just 22 points in the second half.

The Scotties employed a full-court press defense for all 40 minutes of the game, and the Norse turned the ball over 28 times.

They were outrebounded, 41-23.

Jordan Kraemer and Paige Welch each scored ten points for the Norse.

Justice Kinnunen had the shot of the game: a 40-footer as time expired in the first quarter.

Mariane De Caravalho had 20 points to lead Highland to the win.

Bay College lost to another nationally-ranked JUCO team earlier this season, Northern Iowa Area Community College, which is currently ranked fourth in the country.

Bay (3-4) travels to another tournament next weekend for a pair of games. The Norse will play at St. Clair Community College in downstate Port Huron on Friday against Mott Community College, and on Saturday against the host St. Clair team.

Friday's game starts at 2:00 and Saturday's tip-off is set for 3:00. Both games will be broadcast live on WXMG-FM (Maverick 106.3), and at radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and listen to the player spotlight interview with Caitlin Hewitt, and post-game comments from Coach Rae Drake, Jr.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47
Wednesday February 7, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On
Saturday December 16, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing
Saturday November 25, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette
Wednesday November 1, 2017