News ticker

3092 articles
Monday April 23, 2018
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start

ALPENA---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team fell behind by eight points early in the game but used tough defense to turn the game around and beat the Alpena Community College Lumberjacks, 60-52, Wednesday night in Alpena.

Bay College trailed, 16-8, seven and a half minutes into the game, but did not give up a basket over the next five minutes and took control of the contest.

Jameson Perreless nailed three triples early on for the Lumberjacks, but he was held to just one more basket the rest of the way.

Alpena's leading scorer, Michael Stuart, had 26 points the last time these two teams met.

This time he had 21, with nine of those points coming on late three-pointers.

The Norse guards struggled to score points, with Dre Tuominen and Marcus McKenney both scoring eight polints. But their defense was strong against Alpena's weapons.

Escanaba graduate Tyler Willette continued his consistent play, leading the Norse with 13 points, including six in the first half when the Norse had trouble scoring.

Rasonte Smith came off the bench to score a couple of big baskets, including a drive to the hoop with a left-hand finish that put Bay College ahead, 28-19.

The Norse got the guards going early in the second half with McKenney and Alfonzo Fields scoring on back-to-back plays to make it a 41-27 Bay lead.

Alpena made nine three-point baskets while Bay made just one (Tuominen).

The Lumberjacks cut the Bay lead to seven in the final minute, but a basket off the bench by Bark River-Harris graduate Jace Briggs was the final nail in the coffin.

Besides Willette's 13 points, Fields scored 12 and 6-10 center Kobi Barnes had 11.

Bay College improved to 7-5 on the season.

The Norse host UW-Fond du Lac on Saturday.

Game time is 3:00. It will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos, and listen to interviews with Willette, Tuominen, Coach Matt Johnson, and Ishpening's Dondre Yohe, who will play at Bay next year.





Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017