News ticker

3393 articles
Saturday November 17, 2018
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On

IRONWOOD---Bay College has a west campus in Iron Mountain, but the college's women's basketball team is making itself at home in the very far western U.P.

The Norse raced to a 23-point lead and held on Saturday to beat Silver Lake College (Wis.), 56-49, at the Gogebic Winter Classic in Ironwood.

It was the fourth game that the girls have played on that Gogebic College court, compared to just three games  on their home court in Escanaba.

On Saturday, the Norse jumped to a 20-8 lead after the first quarter as Jordan Kraemer went off for nine points and fellow Norway graduate Teidra Fuson hit three baskets from in close.

And Bay expanded its lead to 36-19 at halftime as Kraemer scored nine more points, Caitlin Hewitt nailed a triple, and Paige Welch scored twice.

The lead swelled to 48-25 late in the third quarter after Justice Kinnunen hit a triple, but the Lakers finished the third quarter on an 8-0 run to close to within 48-33.

The Norse scoring drought continued in the fourth quarter as the girls went ice cold from the field. Hewitt hit another three for Bay's only fourth quarter basket to make it 51-39, but Silver Lake's Danielle Byrum got hot, sinking a trio of three-point baskets in the dourth quarter, closing to within 52-46 with 1:18 left in the game.

The Lakers (5-6) had several chances to get closer, but couldn't make the shots and the Norse finished it off with a few free throws in the final minute.

Kraemer led all scorers with 22 points, and she was credited with eleven rebounds for another "double double". Fuson had ten points, Kinnunen nine, Welch eight, and Hewitt seven. Tasha Rabe led the Lakers with 16 points and nine rebounds.

Bay College (7-5) has had three games cancelled or postponed this season, but the girls will be home on Dec. 29-30 for the Quality Inn & Suites tournament at the Northern Lights YMCA Gym.

The Norse will face Alpena Community College for the third time this season on the 29th at 6:00, and will play Miwaukee Area Technical College on the 30th, also at 6:00.

Gogebic Community College will also be in Escanaba to face those teams.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos, and listen to comments from Coach Rae Drake, plus hear from Norse recruit JuliAnn Wickman of North Dickinson High School.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47
Wednesday February 7, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36
Sunday November 26, 2017
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing
Saturday November 25, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette
Wednesday November 1, 2017