News ticker

3093 articles
Tuesday April 24, 2018
Marquette Blitzes Escanaba In 1st U.P. Hoops Game

ESCANABA---The Marquette High School boys basketball team played its first four games of the season in the Lower Peninsula, losing three of them.

The Redmen returned to the U.P. on Tuesday, and rolled to a 76-53 win over the Escanaba Eskymos in Escanaba.

The Redmen jumped to a 16-3 lead in the first quarter, but Ryan Robinette hit two triples in a row to bring Escanaba to within 24-18 in the second quarter. Robinette would get into foul trouble later on, however, and the Marquette pressure defense was intense.

Marquette had a strong inside game as Marius Grazulus had 21 points and grabbed 13 rebounds, to go along with Treylon McFerrin's 21 points. The Redmen also did well from downtown, with Ethan Martysz nailing four three-point baskets.

Robinette led the Eskymos with 24 points.

The loss for Escanaba was the first of the season, after the Eskymos won their first four games by15, 15, 26, and 18 points. Marquette improved to 2-3.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, video highlights.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Escanaba High School Getting Gym Floor Upgrades
Tuesday April 17, 2018
UP HS BOYS BASKETBALL SCOREBOARD
Tuesday March 20, 2018
MOVING ON: Castor Powers Braves Past Eskymos
Monday March 5, 2018
Gladstone 'Big Three' Has Big 2nd Half In Escanaba
Friday February 23, 2018
MAKING A STATEMENT: Mountaineers Roll 74-48
Tuesday February 6, 2018
Eskymos Pull Away In Fourth Quarter; Avoid Upset
Friday February 2, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Eskymos Slip Past Manistique
Friday January 19, 2018
Esky Wins First Delta County Battle In Gladstone
Friday December 15, 2017
Robinette's Sharpshooting Leads Eskymos To Win
Tuesday December 12, 2017