News ticker

2980 articles
Monday January 22, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team fought off a pesky Alpena Community College team for the third time Friday night, posting a 71-61 win at the Quality Inn & Suites Holiday Classic at the Northern Lights YMCA Gym.

The Norse led by as many as 15 points but never were able to shake the Lumberjacks, who clawed to within six points with three minutes to play.

But Bark River-Harris graduate Jace Briggs nailed a three-point basket to make it 65-56, and the Norse cruised home.

Bay entered the game with a less-than-full-strength center Kobi Barnes, who hurt his ankle two weeks ago in Ironwood. He played sparingly Friday, with two points and two blocked shots.

The man who replaced him, Dontae Ellis, went down with an apparent knee injury in the first half and was scheduled to be checked out at the hospital on Saturday.

The Bay guards stepped up, with Alfonzo Fields scoring 25 points and Dre Tuominen adding 23. Marcus McKenney chipped in eleven points.

Bay led, 37-31, at halftime and started the second half strong to vault to the double-digit advantage.

Alpena was led by Jameson Pierreleus, who scored 25 points.

In the earlier game, Milwaukee Area Techical College pulled away from Gogebic Community College, 87-59.

The tournament continues on Saturday with Gogebic playing Alpena at noon ET. Bay will have a tough task against a bigger Milwaukee Tech team in the 4:00 game, which will be broadcast on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear interviews with Barnes, Tuominen, and Fields.





Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017