News ticker

3028 articles
Saturday February 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77

ESCANABA---It was a tale of two halves for the Bay College men's basketball team Wednesday night as they hosted the Sault College (Onario) Cougars at the YMCA Gym.

In the first half, the Norse moved the ball crisply on offense and played stronge defense, resulting in a 50-28 halftime lead. But in the second half, the Norse seemed to take their feet off the gas, and the Cougars made a big push before falling, 86-77.

Tyler Willette led all scorers with 24 points, and was the recipient of a number of nice passes into the post, especially in the first half. He made nine of the 12 shots he took from the field, along with six free throws. Willette also had nine rebounds.

Alfonzo Fields scored 13 points, including five free throws in the final minute that put the game away. Kobi Barnes had 14 points before fouling out with four minutes left.

Marcus McKenney also reached double figures, scoring 14 points, grabbing six rebounds and four assists. Jace Briggs contributed eight points off the bench.

The Norse led, 26-23, when Briggs canned a triple to make it a six-point lead, and that led to a 24-5 Bay College run to close the first half with that 50-28 advantage.

But Sault College (0-11) scored the first eight points of the second half, with Fafa Cessay attacking the basket and giving the Cougars some life. He ended up with 24 points.

The Cougars may have completed the comeback were it not for poor free throw shooting, as they made just sevn of 19 shots at the line.

Bay College was 21-for-30 at the line.

Sault College closed to within six in the final minute but could get no closer.

The Norse improved to 13-6 on the season, and are off until next Wednesday, when they travel to Ironwood to face Gogebic Community College. It will be Bay's fifth game on that court, having won all four games at a pair of tournaments (but not facing the Samsons) in December.

The game will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Willette and McKenney.





Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017