News ticker

3224 articles
Tuesday July 17, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76

 
MARINETTE, Wis.---The Bay College men’s basketball team got revenge for the second straight game Wednesday as the Norse beat UW-Marinette, 83-76, at the Marinette Fieldhouse.

The Norse beat Finlandia on Saturday after losing to the Lions earlier this season in Escanaba. This time, the Norse got paybacks against a Marinette team that dealt Bay a heartbreaking overtime loss on Nov. 1.

But it wasn’t easy.

The Norse led by 15 points in the first half, 28-13, but the Bucs went on a 10-0 run before Alfonzo Fields scored at the halftime buzzer to make it a 30-23 game.

The Norse built leads as high as 12 in the second half, and even though Marinette cut the gap to five on two occasions, Bay had the answer both times.

Dre Tuominen had several big baskets early in the second half, but had to sit the bench with four fouls for a long stretch.

Marinette closed to within 58-56, but was never able to get the game tied up. An 11-3 run made it 69-59 halfway through the half.

Marcus McKenney, playing across the river from his hometown of Menominee, picked up the slack with two triples and a long jump shot during that run.

Fields was the best Norse player on the floor, and at both ends of the court. He ended up with 18 points, and had two steals that led to layups at the other end.

Tuominen had 21 points and McKenney added 17. Kobi Barnes had 18 points.

The Norse suffered bad luck last Saturday when the scoreboards wouldn't work at Finlandia, forcing the game to be delayed by three hours and moved to Michigan Tech University. They made it through Wednesday's game all right, but...

The team's bus broke down in Menominee, and the team had to sit in a gas station parking lot for more than three hours while a new bus was sent from Marquette to meet them. So, it was another very late arrival back in Escanaba for the Norse.

Bay College improved to 16-7 on the season, with six more games left to play. The Norse host Silver Lake College Friday at 8:00, and UW-Fox Valley Saturday at 3:00. Both games will be broadcast on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).






Choose team:
No schedule entries



STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017