News ticker

3186 articles
Saturday June 23, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13

SUPERIOR, Wis.---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team clinched a winning season Friday night by posting a 71-63 victory over the University of Wisconsin-Superior Junior Varsity squad.

Jordan Kraemer had 30 points and Paige Welch added 19 for the Norse.

The win gave the Norse a 13-11 record, with the season finale scheduled for next Saturday afternoon at the YMCA Gym in Escanaba against Gogebic Community College.

The Norse led, 11-9, after the first quarter, and had a narrow 22-18 lead late in the second quarter when Coach Rae Drake, Jr., called a time out and challenged his team to play harder, and with more energy. It worked as the Norse closed the second quarteron a 13-6 spurt, with Kraemer scoring three times, making it a 35-22 halftime score.

Bay's run continued in the third quarter as the lead grew to 53-36 after a Welch basket in the lane. But the JV Yellow Jackets battled back, with Morgan Nepstad hitting three tiples and getting 13 of her 21 points in the fourth quarter.

They closed the gap to five points, but the Norse had several good possessions down the stretch, including one where they picked up five straight offensive rebounds.

Jordan Belleville and Teidra Fuson each scored even points for the Norse.

The season finale next Saturday starts at 1:00, and will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3), and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and video highlights, and hear comments from Coach Rae Drake, Jr.





Alternative content





Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47
Wednesday February 7, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On
Saturday December 16, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36
Sunday November 26, 2017
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing
Saturday November 25, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette
Wednesday November 1, 2017