News ticker

3435 articles
Friday December 14, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game

SUPERIOR, Wis.---The Bay College men's basketball team held off the University of Wisconsin-Superior Junior Yellow Jackets, 75-63, to win their 20th game of the season.

Kobi Barnes had 25 points and Dre Tuominen added 22 as the Norse improved their record to 20-9, with next Saturday's game against Gogebic Community College remaining on Bay's first basketball season in more than four decades.

The Norse trailed, 19-18, midway through the first half when they went on a 12-0 run to seemingly take control of the game.

Marcus McKenney scored back-to-back jumpers, Garrett Finkbeiner nailed a shot from the left wing, and Barnes had two baskets.

When Tuominen sank a three late in the half, and Barnes scored on a pretty move to the hole, the Norse took their biggest lead of the game at 39-24. But the game was far from over.

The Yellow Jackets scored the final six points of the first half to close to within 39-30, then they started popping triples. Superior made six three-point baskets, with Trevor Paulus and Montroy Scott each getting two of them, and they closed to within 56-54.

Fortunately, Bay had the answer, as Finkbeiner nailed a triple of his own to make it a 59-54 game, and then Tuominen followed with a sweet basket in the paint as he backed in and scored on a turnaround jumper.

Barnes had a dominating performance, adding 13 rebounds to his 25 points. He also blocked four shots, including two emphatic stuffs that sent the ball sailing to the free throw line. He made 10-of-12 shots from the field, and 5-of-8 at the foul line.

Tuominen had seven assists to go along with his 22 points. Fields scored ten points.

Tyler Willette added seven points and eight rebounds.

Bay College will end its first season with a match against Gogebic next Saturday, a team the Norse lost a triple overtime heartbreaker to in Ironwood earlier this season. The game starts at 3:00 and will be broadcast on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and listen to interviews with Student Manager Curtis Aiken, and Norse Assistant Coach Matt Gregory.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81
Monday February 12, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017