News ticker

3352 articles
Monday October 22, 2018
Gladstone Settles For DH Split In Icy Sturgeon Bay

STURGEON BAY, Wis.---The Gladstone High School baseball team settled for a doubleheader split on Saturday in the program's first-ever meeting with Sturgeon Bay, beating the Clippers, 2-0, in the opener, before dropping the nightcap, 12-2.

The games were played under sunny skies, but the temperature was only 43 degrees, and a gusty wind was howling all afternoon long.

But, more importantly, they got to play some baseball. It was Sturgeon Bay's second and third games of the season, and for Gladstone, it was just games #5 and #6. Not very many as the calendar ticks toward May.

In Saturday's opener, Clay C0le through five innings of two-hit ball, and Ben Kelly closed the door with two innings of shutout relief, as the Braves won, 2-0.

Cooper Cavadeas gave the Braves the lead in the second inning when he ripped a gap shot that scored Lucas Weinert, who had started the inning with his second hit in as many at-bats. Courtesy runner Zac Hanson, however, was thrown out at the plate.

Gladstone kept its 1-0 lead with some good defensive plays, the best of which was a sliding catch in center field by Owen Hanson with two men on to end the fifth inning.

The Braves grabbed an insurance run in the top of the seventh inning when Carson Shea was hit by a pitch and stole second base. Weinert drew an intentional walk, and Cody Frappier, who had been 0-for-3, made the Clippers pay with an RBI single.

Mitch  Jackson pitched four innings and took the loss for Sturgeon Bay, allowing one runs on four hits. Isaac Berkley threw the final three innings, allowing two hits.

The second game of the doubleheader was scoreless through two innings, with catcher Braeden Lamberg throwing out a man trying to steal second base, and the Braves turning a 6-4-3 double play (Shea-Zach Hanson-Jared Crow) in the second inning.

But all of that defense fell apart in the third inning as the Braves gave up ten runs on four errors, four walks, and four base hits.

Cavadeas made two of the errors himself on the mound, and was pulled with just one out in that inning. Three other Gladstone pitchers followed, and the Clippers ended the game on the mercy rule in the fifth inning.

Leadoff batter Anthony Moore had three hits and drove in two runs for the Clippers.

Frappier led the Braves with a pair of doubles, and C0le had two singles.

Gladstone (5-1) will play two games on Monday that have just been added to the schedule. The Braves will host Rudyard in a doubleheader that starts at 4:00. Then Gladstone visits Escanaba for a JV-varsity doubleheader Tuesday night.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Laura Lamberg.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gladstone Indians Sweep Doubleheader From Sault
Sunday July 15, 2018
Gladstone Indians Bats Overwhelm Bark River Bucs
Tuesday July 10, 2018
Gladstone Tops Bark River To Win Soo Tournament
Sunday July 8, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Six Errors Sink Cubs In Gladstone
Tuesday July 3, 2018
UP Teams Have Rough Finish At Marinette Tourney
Sunday July 1, 2018
TAKE TWO: Indians Beat Manitowoc, GB Shockers
Saturday June 30, 2018
Gladstone Dominates Pulaski In Firecracker Opener
Friday June 29, 2018
Braves Celebrate Most Successful Baseball Season
Monday June 25, 2018
LUCKY 6: DePere Scores Six Runs In Sixth For Title
Sunday June 24, 2018
Indians Drop Semifinal Game To Midland Berryhill
Sunday June 24, 2018
LATE NIGHT WALK-OFF: Cubs Outlast Bark River
Saturday June 23, 2018
Last-Minute Rally Falls Short For Gladstone Indians
Friday June 22, 2018
Indians Take Advantage Of Cub Mistakes In Opener
Thursday June 21, 2018
Gladstone's Clay Cole Named To D3 All-State Team
Monday June 18, 2018
END OF THE LINE: Braves, Lauscher Fall In Semis
Friday June 15, 2018
WINNING UGLY: Braves Overcome Mistakes, 3-2
Tuesday June 12, 2018
Braves Trying To Keep Championship Dream Alive
Monday June 11, 2018
WHAT A FEELING!!! Braves Stun No. 1 St. Francis
Saturday June 9, 2018
Gladstone Baseball Prepares For Regional Tourney
Friday June 8, 2018
Gladstone, North Central Get Ready For Regionals
Tuesday June 5, 2018
Gladstone Capture Baseball, Softball District Titles
Saturday June 2, 2018
Braves Close Regular Season With Win Over Miners
Monday May 28, 2018
Gladstone, Marquette Split Baseball Doubleheader
Friday May 25, 2018
DEFENSIVE BATTLE: Hornets Sneak Past Braves
Thursday May 24, 2018
PITCHING RULES: Hanson No-Hitter Paces Braves
Tuesday May 22, 2018
Gladstone Tops Marquette In Baseball Home Finale
Thursday May 17, 2018
Braves Reward Seniors With Win Over Menominee
Monday May 14, 2018
Shea, Hanson Pitch Gladstone Past Sault Ste. Marie
Friday May 11, 2018
ROARING BACK: Braves Complete Rivalry Sweep
Thursday May 10, 2018
DOING THE SPLITS: Braves, Redmen Trade Wins
Thursday May 3, 2018
Gladstone Rallies To Stop Escanaba In Showdown
Tuesday May 1, 2018
PLAY BALL!!! Baseball Season Finally Gets Started
Monday April 23, 2018
Opening Baseball Tournament Cancelled By Snow
Wednesday April 4, 2018