News ticker

3435 articles
Friday December 14, 2018
LONG TIME COMING: Gladstone Tops Menominee

MENOMINEE---The Gladstone Braves beat the Menominee Maroons in football for the first time since 2008 Friday night, posting a 14-0 win at Blesch Stadium.

Zach Hanson's 95-yard kickoff return to start the game gave the Braves the jump, and Brody Sanville's 55-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter sealed the game.

Menominee fumbled the ball six times and missed a short field goal, falling to 0-3 on the season. It was the Maroons' second straight shutout loss at home, after losing to Kaukauna, Wis., 21-0, last week. Menominee's last loss to Gladstone was in 2008, also 14-0.

Gladstone improved to 2-1 on the season, 1-0 in the Great Northern Conference. The Braves travel to Kingsford next Friday night. The Flivvers are 0-3 after a pair of losses to Wisconsin powerhouse schools from Fond duLac.

Next Friday's game is scheduled for 7:30 ET/6:30 CT at Flivver Field. It will be broadcast live on WGKL-FM (Kool 105.5) and WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to listen to the radio replay of a quarterback sack and fumble, followed by Sanville's TD run. Also listen to post-game interviews with Sanville and Doby Gillis.





Choose team:
No schedule entries



U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Friday November 16, 2018
Kamin, Howes, Eskymos Lead All-UP Football Picks
Saturday November 10, 2018
FINISHING STRONG: Sanville, Gladstone Get Win
Saturday October 20, 2018
Turnovers Cost Braves In GNC Road Contest, 21-14
Friday October 12, 2018
RIVALRY VICTORY: Eskymos Oulast Braves 28-15
Friday October 5, 2018
Gladstone Loses Defensive Battle In Sault Ste. Marie
Friday September 28, 2018
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Braves Top Lakers, 28-8
Friday September 21, 2018
Gladstone Hangs Tough But Falls To Gaylord, 42-34
Thursday August 30, 2018
Gladstone Opens Season With Win Over St. Ignace
Friday August 24, 2018
MHSAA Reports Reduction In Concussion Injuries
Thursday August 9, 2018