News ticker

3492 articles
Wednesday January 23, 2019
Bay College Breaks Ground On Athletic Expansions

ESCANABA---A groundbreaking ceremony was held at Bay College in Escanaba Wednesday afternoon for the start of construction on an expansion of the athletic facilities there. It was a cold, windy, afternoon, but the Board of Trustees, Hannahville Indian Community, and Bay College staff and administrators were on hand for the event.

A couple dozen athletes from all six of Bay’s teams were on hand for the event.

 

The 6,000 sq. ft. addition includes two home team locker rooms, two away team locker rooms, a coach’s/referee locker room, a sports conditioning room, offices, and meeting space.


The Hannahville Indian Community announced last summer that Bay College would receive funds to improve the athletics program.

This facility supports Bay College athletes and their competitors and recognizes the importance of best-in-class locker rooms to their well-being and sportsmanship.


President Coleman stated, “The College is very excited to move forward on this project for Athletics and we are very grateful that the Hannahville Indian Community has funded this much needed addition.”


“This is a very exciting time for our student-athletes,” said Athletic Director, Matt Johnson. “It’s significant on a lot of different levels. It is good for our student athletes because it helps us avoid conflicts and have a structured calendar for their academic schedule. The athletic training room will be better equipped to keep them healthy and in the game. It’s also big for our staff.

"This is their classroom, this is where they teach. Having their offices and classroom near the gym will better allow them to help prepare our student athletes.”
 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



TUNING UP: Norse Roll Past Lake State JVs, 99-52
Tuesday January 22, 2019
Dakota County Pulls Away Late To Top Norse 84-75
Saturday January 19, 2019
ANOTHER REGIONAL WIN: Norse Stop Samsons
Wednesday January 16, 2019
SIGNATURE VICTORY: Norse Upset No. 16 Knights
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Athletes Earn Spots On '18 Dean's List
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Bay College Grinds Out Win Over Silver Lake 98-93
Saturday January 5, 2019
OVERMATCHED: Stormers Blow Past Bay Again
Sunday December 30, 2018
Gogebic Samsons Pick Up Two Wins Over Alpena
Sunday December 30, 2018
RECORD SHATTERED: Norse Put Up 116 In Win
Saturday December 29, 2018
Milwaukee Tech Takes Two From Gogebic Samsons
Saturday December 29, 2018
Norse Hold Off Leech Lake To Head Into Holidays
Saturday December 15, 2018
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Western Tech
Friday December 14, 2018
MILWAUKEE HOMECOMING: Norse Fall, 98-70
Saturday December 8, 2018
EVERYONE SCORES: Norse Overwhelm Harper
Friday December 7, 2018
OFFENSIVE OUTBURST: Norse Shoot Past Alpena
Wednesday December 5, 2018
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Drop Second Game Downstate
Saturday December 1, 2018
DISAPPOINTING FINISH: Norse Win Streak Ends
Friday November 30, 2018
STEPPING UP: Barnes, Dean Take Over For Norse
Sunday November 25, 2018
RUNNIN N GUNNIN: Norse Outlast Hibbing, 96-81
Saturday November 24, 2018
FOUR IN A ROW: Norse Men Outlast Western Tech
Sunday November 18, 2018
Norse Stop Marinette For Third Straight Win, 92-66
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Norse Men's Basketball Wins Twice In Minnesota
Saturday November 10, 2018
Bay College Basketball Teams Fall In Iowa
Saturday November 3, 2018
Norse Men Lose Basketball Season Opener, 80-60
Friday November 2, 2018
NORSE FORCE: Bay Hoops Ready For 2nd Season
Wednesday October 17, 2018