• HS Softball Finals 6/15: D2: Escanaba 7, Stevensville-Lakeshore 3
  • D1: Warren Regina 3, Howell 2 (8 Innings)
  • D4: Unionville-Sebewaing 3, Kalamazoo Christian 1
  • D3: Millington vs Schoolcraft
  • HS Baseball Finals 6/15: D1: Portage Northen 10, Rockford 4
  • D2: Orchard Lake St. Mary 8, Grand Rapids CC 1
  • D3: Homer 4, GPW University Liggett 0
  • D4: Saginaw Nouvel vs Petersburg-Summerfield
3678 articles
Saturday June 15, 2019
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win

ESCANABA---The Bay College women's basketball team scored 27 points in the third quarter Saturday and pulled away for a 78-62 win over Western Technical College (Wis.). Jordan Kraemer scored 23 points and grabbed 11 rebounds for the Norse.

Bay led, 29-28, at halftime, before ramping up the defense and turning that intensity into points at the other end of the court.

The Norse led, 40-36, in the third quarter, efore going on a run, led by the Ackerman twins from Munising. First, Marissa Ackerman scored on a put-back while falling down to make it a 49-39 game. Moments later, Kelsea Ackerman scored off a nice pass from Kraemer.

Then after a turnover, Paige Welch connected with a triple to make it 54-39.

In the fourth quarter, St. Ignace's Keshia Davis made a basket and drew the foul for an old-fashioned three point play to give Bay a 64-45 lead.

Earlier, Gladstone graduate Taylor Hunter had a driving basket that also led to an "and-one" opportunity. Kraemer, a sophomore from Norway, scored nine of her 23 points during that big third quarter run.

Her basket off a pass from Mid Peninsula graduate Haley Trudell led to a three-point play opportunity that Kraemer converted, making it 40-32 at the time. Besides Kraemer's 23 points, Marissa Ackerman had ten points and Kelsea Ackerman scored nine. Ten of Bay's 13 players scored in the contest.

Western Tech was led by Lexy Schroeder and Lindsey Murphy with 13 points each.

The Norse travel to Ironwood next Saturday to face Hibbing (Minn.) Community College. Game time is 2:00. It will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Bellville, and to hear interviews with Welch, Kelsea Ackerman, and Coach Rob Robinson.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018