• HS Girls BB Quarterfinal 3/20: St. Ignace 76, Baraga 45
  • Lake City 50, Westwood 46
3581 articles
Thursday March 21, 2019
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC

IRONWOOD---The Bay College women’s basketball team scored the first 13 points of the game and cruised to a 70-37 win over the Vermillion Community College (Minn.) Ironwomen Sunday afternoon at the Lindquist Classic in Ironwood. All 13 Bay players scored during the win, which improved the Norse to 4-4 on the season.

"It's good to get the opportunity to make sure everybody gets to play," Norse Coach Rob Robinson said. "Only having five girls on their team, it's hard to keep concentration after you make that first run. I thought we did a solid job of that today. You need to be able to focus for 40 minutes, and this was a good step for us to figure out how to do that."

Jordan Kraemer led the Norse attack with 14 points and Paige Welch added 13.

The Norse had a 20-9 lead after the first quarter and grew their advantage to 37-15 at halftime.

Megan Robinette added eight points, including two three-point baskets. Jordan Belleville, Haley Trudell, and Brooke Dalgord all scored five points for the Norse.

The Ironwomen had just five players on the roster, and all five played all 40 minutes of the contest. Terri Sutton and Bailey Bassette both scored 11 points for Vermillion.

Bay College is on the road again next weekend, taking part in a two-day tournament eight hours away at St. Clair County Community College in downstate Port Huron.

The Norse play the Mid-Michigan Lakers in their first game Friday afternoon at 2:00.

It will be broadcast live on WGMV-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com, starting at 1:45 ET.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos, and listen to interviews with Caitlin Hewitt and Rob Robinson.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018