• HS Girls BB Quarterfinal 3/20: St. Ignace 76, Baraga 45
  • Lake City 50, Westwood 46
3581 articles
Thursday March 21, 2019
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory

MILWAUKEE---The Bay College women's basketball team outscored Milwaukee Tech, 25-8, in the second quarter, and beat the Stormers, 75-61, Saturday in Milwaukee.

Jordan Kraemer had 22 points and had eight rebounds. She scored 14 points in the first quarter as the Norse took a 18-11 lead. The Norse led, 43-19, at halftime, before the Stormers got hot in the second half from three-point land, cutting the lead in half.

Sophia Valero led the Stormer comeback with 27 points, including six three -pointers. The home team nailed 13 three-pointers all together, but never cut the Bay lead below 11.

Taylor Hunter added 15 points.  Ten different Norse players would contribute in the scoring column.

Bay College got their biggest advantage on the free throw line.


The Norse would toe the charity stripe 29 times, converting 22 of those attempts.

Meanwhile the Stormers would get just 12 free throws, and only make six of them.  The Norse would also outrebound their opponents 38-29.
 

"We had a great energy in the second quarter, but came out after the half a little flat," said Head Coach Rob Robinson.  "It was good to see the team come together to finish the game.  Five games in eight days has been tough on them both mentally and physically, but we were still able to keep up our pressure and pull out the win."

The Norse will be at the Gogebic Winter Classic next weekend.  On Friday they will faceoff with Western Tech at 3:00 ET.  That will be a rematch of the November 17 game in Escanaba that Bay College won by a score of 78-62.  It will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 FM and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and listen to post-game interviews with Kraemer and Robinson. Also hear halftime interview with JuliAnn Wickman.

 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64
Saturday January 5, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018