• LLBB 11-12 Baseball 7/19: Beach 20, Kingsford 6
  • Grand Blanc 13, Ishpeming 3
  • American Legion Zones 7/19: Gladstone 3, Menominee 0
  • Copper Country 5, Escanaba 4
  • Bark River 6, Gladstone 4
  • Marquette 13, Iron Mountain 2
3736 articles
Saturday July 20, 2019
GOOSE EGGS: Gladstone Pitchers Blank Calumet

GLADSTONE---The Gladstone High School baseball team swept a doubleheader from the Calumet Copper Kings, 1-0 and 6-0, on Saturday at the Don Olsen Field.

Carson Shea threw all six innings in the opener, allowing just one hit. He struck out seven batters. But Calumet pitcher Trevor Hendrickson was also tough, as the Braves managed only three hits against him.

The Braves scored the only run of the game on a sacrifice fly by Zach Hanson in the third inning.

In the second game, three pitchers combined for a two-hit shutout. Caden Alworden pitched the first three innings, Riley Baldovski tossed the middle two innings, and Parker Frappier finished up.

Gladstone took a 1-0 lead in the second  inning with an unearned run, and Christian Creten’s ground ball brought home Frappier. The Braves added two runs in the third inning on an RBI double by Dan Martin and an RBI single by Frappier.

Ben Kelly had an RBI single in the fifth inning.

The Braves improved to 9-5 on the season. They return to Great Northern Conference play with a game at Kingsford on Tuesday, then they travel to Escanaba on Thursday.

Thursday’s game will be broadcast on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600) and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Braves Fall In State Semifinal
Friday June 14, 2019
U.P. BASEBALL PLAYOFF SCORES
Friday June 14, 2019
Gladstone Prepares For State Semifinals Challenge
Thursday June 13, 2019
NEVER SAY DIE: Gladstone Rallies Into Final Four
Monday June 10, 2019
Gladstone Prepares For Super Regional Challenges
Friday June 7, 2019
DOWNSTATE AGAIN: Gladstone Blanks Negaunee
Wednesday June 5, 2019
Braves Shake Off Slow Start; Win Baseball District
Saturday June 1, 2019
REGULAR SEASON FINALE: Hornets Stop Braves
Friday May 24, 2019
CLEAN SWEEP: Braves Wrap Up Conference Title
Thursday May 23, 2019
DOUBLE PAYBACK: Gladstone Sweeps Negaunee
Wednesday May 15, 2019
Braves Sweep Menominee; Stay Undefeated In GNC
Tuesday May 14, 2019
PITCHER'S DUAL: Gladstone Edges Escanaba, 4-1
Monday May 13, 2019
Braves Dominate Eskymos In Doubleheader Sweep
Tuesday April 30, 2019
Shea No-Hitter, Martin's Hot Bat Leads Gladstone
Saturday April 27, 2019
BACK ON TRACK: Gladstone Smacks Menominee
Friday April 19, 2019
Gladstone Baseball Loses Twice At Rockford Invite
Saturday April 13, 2019
Gladstone Opens Baseball Season With Three Wins
Friday April 5, 2019