• LLBB 11-12 Baseball 7/19: Beach 20, Kingsford 6
  • Grand Blanc 13, Ishpeming 3
  • American Legion Zones 7/19: Gladstone 3, Menominee 0
  • Copper Country 5, Escanaba 4
  • Bark River 6, Gladstone 4
  • Marquette 13, Iron Mountain 2
3736 articles
Saturday July 20, 2019
Braves Sweep Menominee; Stay Undefeated In GNC

GLADSTONE---The Gladstone Braves baseball team stayed undefeated in Great Northern Conference play with a pair of wins on Monday over the Menominee Maroons, 4-2 and 13-3, at Don Olsen Field. The Braves swept the season series from the Maroons, but the first game required a come-from-behind effort to secure the victory.

In the first game, the Braves allowed just one base hit, but errors cost them single runs in both the third and fifth innings. But Gladstone pulled through with a pair of runs in both the fourth and fifth innings to back up pitcher Riley Baldovski.

Cody Frappier led off the fourth inning with a single, then Cole Hansen doubled to put two on. Ian Schwalbach hit a sacrafice fly to tie the game, then Baldovski helped his own cause with an RBI single to give Gladstone a 2-1 lead.

That was shortlived, however, as the Maroons tied the game in the top of the fifth.

An error and a walk put two men on, then Christian Creten came through with a solid two-run single to put the Braves ahead, 4-2.

Baldovski hit a batter in the top of the sixth, but he got the last out to preserve the win.

There was no suspence in the nightcap as the Braves scored three runs in the first inning on RBI singles by Cooper Cavadeas, Schwalbach, and Jared Crow.

Then in the third inning, Gladstone scored ten runs to put it away. Drake Forrest drove in two runs with a single, then Zach Hanson doubled in two runs. Then Carson Shea singled in two runs. Menominee scored three runs in the fourth inning, but the game ended on the ten-run mercy rule after that.

Caden Alworden pitched the first three innings, giving up no runs on two hits. Ben Kelly threw the final inning, allowing three runs on two hits and two walks.

Gladstone improved to 17-6 on the season, 8-0 in the Great Northern Conference.

The Braves will travel to Negaunee for an out-of-league doubleheader on Wednesday. Game time is 4:00. It will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Belleville.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Braves Fall In State Semifinal
Friday June 14, 2019
U.P. BASEBALL PLAYOFF SCORES
Friday June 14, 2019
Gladstone Prepares For State Semifinals Challenge
Thursday June 13, 2019
NEVER SAY DIE: Gladstone Rallies Into Final Four
Monday June 10, 2019
Gladstone Prepares For Super Regional Challenges
Friday June 7, 2019
DOWNSTATE AGAIN: Gladstone Blanks Negaunee
Wednesday June 5, 2019
Braves Shake Off Slow Start; Win Baseball District
Saturday June 1, 2019
REGULAR SEASON FINALE: Hornets Stop Braves
Friday May 24, 2019
CLEAN SWEEP: Braves Wrap Up Conference Title
Thursday May 23, 2019
SENIORS SHINE: Eskymos Take 2 From Maroons
Tuesday May 21, 2019
Lancour, Eskymos Cruise To Victory In Menominee
Thursday May 16, 2019
DOUBLE PAYBACK: Gladstone Sweeps Negaunee
Wednesday May 15, 2019
PITCHER'S DUAL: Gladstone Edges Escanaba, 4-1
Monday May 13, 2019
GOOSE EGGS: Gladstone Pitchers Blank Calumet
Saturday May 4, 2019
Braves Dominate Eskymos In Doubleheader Sweep
Tuesday April 30, 2019
Shea No-Hitter, Martin's Hot Bat Leads Gladstone
Saturday April 27, 2019
BACK ON TRACK: Gladstone Smacks Menominee
Friday April 19, 2019
Gladstone Baseball Loses Twice At Rockford Invite
Saturday April 13, 2019
Gladstone Opens Baseball Season With Three Wins
Friday April 5, 2019