• HS Tennis 9/17: Escanaba 5, Kingsford 3
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Westwood 7, Iron Mountain 1
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Negaunee 8, Munising 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Bark River-Harris 3, Superior Central 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: West Iron County 3, Westwood 2
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Carney-Nadeau 3, Rapid River 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: North Dickinson 3, North Central 0
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Marquette 8, Ishpeming 0
  • HS Soccer 9/17: Marquette 5, Kingsford 0
  • HS Tennis 9/17: West Iron County 8, Gwinn 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Stephenson 3, Norway 0
4244 articles
Friday September 18, 2020
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team used aggressive defense to force 33 turnovers Monday night in a dominating 88-35 win over the Wisconsin-Marinette Buccaneers in Escanaba. The result comes one day after the Norse forced 47 turnovers in a 113-20 win over the Lake Superior State junior varsity team.

On Monday, the Norse scored the first eight points of the game and rolled to a 29-4 lead after the first quarter, and a 50-13 lead at halftime.

"I think we have some intense players," Norse Coach Rob Robinson said. "I love our players who hit the floor. We're always diving for loose balls. We got a little slow in the second half, but that's just the nature of the game when you're up by 60 points two games in a row."

Thirteen of the Norse 14 players who suited up Monday scored at least one basket. Haley Trudell led Bay in scoring for the second straight day, knocking down four of her five three-point attempts and scoring 14 points. Holly Wardynski had a nice all-around game with nine points, five assists, two steals, and three rebounds.

"A big thing we've been working on is being patient in our offense," Warydnski said. "We did a really good job on doing that these last two games. We had good defensive intensity, and we played as a team."

Kaitlyn Hardwick and JuliAnn Wickman also scored nine points each. Keshia Davis led on rebounding with seven rebounds, four of them on the offensive end.

Bri Burnett led UW-Marinette with a game-high 19 points. She made eight of her 15 shot attempts. The rest of the Bucs team made six baskets on 24 attempts.

As a team, the Norse made 10 of 18 three-point attempts, while the Bucs made just one triple in the contest. Bay outrebounded Marinette, 35-27.

Bay College improved to 4-1 on the season with a road trip this Friday to Milwaukee Area Technical College, and Saturday to Harper College in Palatine, Ill. Both games will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 FM and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Coach Rob Robinson and Holly Wardynski. Also hear Keshia Davis' player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019