• College Softball 3/13: Bay College 9, Chesapeake (Maryland) 1
  • College Baseball 3/13: Bay College 3, Northwestern Minnesota 0
4149 articles
Friday May 29, 2020
BENCH PRESS! Forbes Paces Norse 2nd Half Run

PALATINE, Ill.---When the going got tough, the bench players on the Bay College men’s basketball team got going.

The Norse led from start to finish on Saturday against Harper College in suburban Chicago, but not before the Hawks closed to within 54-48 early in the second half.

That’s when Norse Coach Matt Johnson, who had challenged his “first unit” to play harder a few moments earlier, went to the bench. And the lineup of Austin Forbes, Luke Mattson, Marcus Harris, Chris Dobessi, and Dondre Yohe responded.

They scored ten straight points and went on a 13-3 spurt to build a 67-51 lead, and the Norse never looked back from there, in posting a 89-71 victory in Pallatine, Ill.

“Our bench was awesome,,” Norse Coach Matt Johnson said. “They came through and made some big plays and did some really good things. They just brought a completely different energy than what that first group was bringing."

"Not to make excuses for them, but it was a totally different atmosphere compared to last night (in Milwaukee). Quiet gym, they just watched a lopsided womens’ game. But I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it, the strength of our team is our depth.”

Forbes, the Gwinn High School graduate who has seen sparse playing time this season, took control off the offense by moving the ball up-court.

He scored all eight of his points in that two-minute span, including a pair of triples.

“I think my game’s good, I just need to get confidence,” said Forbes, who scored more than 1,000 points in high school at Gwinn. “Like, I go into the game, and I just shake, and I don’t know what to do, and I don’t want the ball. So, I’ve just got to play like I did in high school. I’ve talked with Coach Johnson a lot. He said that I can be useful, but it’s on me to do that.”

"I told him, 'Austin, you don't get to be a 1,000-point scorer by accident," Johnson said. "You put in the time, you put in all the work, and I have the absolute confidence in the world, but I can't put you out there unless you've got the confidence in yourself. It didn't help, either, that he came off the ACL surgery from last spring. He can contriubte, He can help, and he sure showed that today."

Harris, a Brimley High School graduate who also hasn’t played much this season, battled at both ends of the court and also knocked down a triple.

Mattson, a second-year player from Negaunee who’s a grind-it type player, did start the game Saturday, but he was in the "second unit" as the game went on. Mattson scored eight points in the game on four baskets in the paint.

Yohe, a second year player from Ishpeming, scored a pair of baskets. Munising's Cade Contreras also gave the team good minutes during that stretch.

"Luke Mattson is one of those kids that coaches absolutely love," Johnson said. "He gives you everything he's got. He'll accept any role you throw at him. He is an old school, blue collar, lunch-pail type kid. He does all of the dirty work. He showed that again tonight. When he's on the floor, good things happen."

As the game went on, when he got back on the floor, Christian Alexander was dominant. He threw down a pair of two-handed slam dunks to go along with a slam he had in the first half (off of a nice bounce pass from Forbes).

Dobessi led the Norse with 15 points and Alexander added 14 points.

Tristan Masuga chipped in 12 points while Ryan Robinette scored nine points.

Keyondae Johnson led Harper (1-7) with 20 points, including four three-point baskets. Michael Nowakowski added13 points.

Bay College (4-3) heads home on Monday to face Alpena Community College. Game time is 7:30.  It will be broadcast 0n Maverick 106.3 and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear comments from Johnson and Forbes.









COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
NMU Announces 2019-'20 Wildcat Award Winners
Monday April 27, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
HEADING EAST: Mattson To Play Hoops For UVF
Thursday April 9, 2020
RAINING TRIPLES: Michigan Tech Rolls Past 'Cats
Thursday February 27, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Grand Valley Tops 'Cats
Thursday February 20, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
NMU Wildcat Basketball Teams Lose At Ferris State
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Lake Superior State Sweeps NMU Basketball Teams
Thursday February 13, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Howard, Fruin Lead Northern Past Parkside, 55-43
Thursday February 6, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
NMU Shuts Down Lake State In U.P. Rivalry, 65-40
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Hot-Shooting 'Cats Beat Purdue-Northwest, 81-67
Thursday January 9, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
BOMBS AWAY: 'Cats Nail 14 Triples; Beat Ashland
Thursday January 2, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
HOME SETBACK: Wildcats Fall To Ripon College
Saturday December 21, 2019
Monroe Scores 30; Huskies Overpower Canadians
Saturday December 21, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
NMU Offense Struggles In 70-52 Loss To Hillsdale
Thursday December 19, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
Matelski Buzzer-Beater Lifts 'Cats Past Tech, 64-61
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
Michigan Tech Basketball Outguns Finlandia 119-72
Wednesday December 11, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Saginaw Valley Pulls Out Hoop Win Over Northern
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
NMU Men's Basketball Drops GLIAC Opener, 53-50
Thursday December 5, 2019
NMU Second Half Rally Comes Up Short In Alaska
Monday December 2, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Wildcats Top SW Minnesota St.
Saturday November 16, 2019
NMU Basketball Teams Have Rough Day In Illinois
Sunday November 10, 2019
Bay College Men Win In Wisconsin; Women Lose
Saturday November 9, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019