• HS Volleyball 9/22: Rapid River 3, Munising 1
  • HS Tennis 9/22: Menominee 6, Escanaba 2
  • HS Volleyball 9/22: Gwinn 3, Westwood 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/22: Stephenson 3, Menominee 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/22: Norway 3, Superior Central 1
  • HS Volleyball 9/22: Manistique 3, Ishpeming 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/22: Mid Peninsula 3, North Central 0
4248 articles
Thursday September 24, 2020
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron

PORT HURON---The Bay College Norse women’s basketball team had a nine-point lead on two occasions Friday night, but lost to St. Clair County Community College, 59-55, at the Skippers Holiday Classic in Port Huron.

The Norse committed 30 turnovers and went through a couple of dry spells on offense, and the defense gave up 27 points to SC4’s Keishawna McGruder, including 14 points in the third quarter when the Skippers made their run.

Early on, the Norse were in good shape, leading 16-7 before a SWC4 basket made it 16-9 after the first quarter.

The Skippers outscored the Norse, 11-2, to start the second quarter, taking their first lead at 20-18.

Bay responded with an 11-0 run, keyed by three-pointers from Holly Wardynski and Trisha McGuire.  Kaitlyn Hardwick put back a missed triple as well, giving the Norse a 29-20 lead with two minutes left in the half.

Bay had to settle for a 29-24 lead at the half before McGruder went on her run in the third quarter.

Four of her points came on a three-point basket and a free throw after she was fouled on the play. The game went back-and-forth down the stretch before JuliAnn Wickman rebounded a missed shot, pushed the play up court, and passed to Haley Trudell in the corner. She buried a triple with 2:47 left to give the Norse a 53-52 lead.

But they couldn’t build on that momentum, with a ten-second call and two bad passes helping to seal their fate. Trudell missed an open three in the final minute that also could have given the Norse the lead.

Bay dropped to 7-2 on the season while St. Clair County improved to 3-5.

Wardynski and Taylor Hunter both scored ten points, while Keshia Davis just missed a double-double with nine points and nine rebounds.

Besides McGruder’s 27  points, HaLaya Cato scored 16 points for SC4.

The Norse face a stiff challenge on Saturday when they face undefeated and 14th ranked Mid Michigan. Game time is 11:00 a.m.

It will be broadcast on WGMV-Maverick 106.3 and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos and hear post-game comments from Coach Rob Robinson, and the player spotlight interview with Holly Wardynski.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019