• U.P. Baseball 6/19: Marquette at Gladstone
  • Menominee at Escanaba
  • Iron Mountain at Gladstone
  • Marquette vs Bark River
  • Bark River at Escanaba
4153 articles
Saturday June 6, 2020
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate

PORT HURON---The Bay College men's basketball team gave up 18 three-point baskets and was outrebounded 51-35 and lost to St. Clair County Community College, 99-62, Friday night in Port Huron. The Norse also turned the ball over 22 times.

Bay College led only one time, when Ryan Robinette hit a three-pointer on the first posession to make it a 3-0 lead. The game went back and forth for the first few minutes, with the game tied at 13-13 before the Skippers went on a shooting spree.

They went on a 18-2 run to take a 31-15 lead, with six three-point baskets going through the hoop. The lead grew to 44-24 as SC4 made three more triples.

Bay cut it to 44-31 at halftime as Xaviel Fields, playing an hour from his sbuurban Detroit hometown, made a nice spin move in the lane for a basket. That was followed by a three-pointer by Brimley High School graduate Marcus Harris.

Harris also made two free throws during the 7-0 run after the Skippers were called for a technical foul.

Marinette High School graduate Matt Wagner scored five points in the first minute of the second half to bring the Norse to within 46-37.

They would get no closer, however, as the Skippers outscored Bay, 29-10, over the next seven minutes of the game, keyed by a running dunk and two triples by SC4's Riley Bugg.

Things unraveled down the stretch as the Norse were called for two technical fouls and the Skippers scored a series of three-pointers, giving them 18 triples for the game. They had nine different players make three's, with eight of the guys getting at least two.

To make matters worse, Bay College made just 10 of 22 free throws.

St. Clair County improved to 6-2 on the season, and had four players score in double figures. Jalem Miller had 14 points, while D'Juan Taylor and Buggs both had 13 points.

Emmanuel Ndami affed 11 points, and Darrel Washington had ten rebounds.

Bay College fell to 5-4 on the season. Wagner led the way with ten points, while Robinette scored nine and Tristan Masuga chipped in eight points.

Christian Alexander had seven points and eight rebounds.

The Norse return to action on Saturday against Mid-Michigan Community College. The Lakers are led by former Bay College player Dre Tuominen, the Negaunee grad who played for the Norse in 2017-18 before taking last year off from basketball. The game starts at 1:00 and will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and listen to post-game comments from Coach Matt Johnson. Also listen to the player spotlight interview with Detroit-area natives Chris Dobessi, Xaviel Fields, and Khalid Fleming.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019