• HS Tennis 9/17: Escanaba 5, Kingsford 3
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Westwood 7, Iron Mountain 1
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Negaunee 8, Munising 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Bark River-Harris 3, Superior Central 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: West Iron County 3, Westwood 2
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Carney-Nadeau 3, Rapid River 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: North Dickinson 3, North Central 0
  • HS Tennis 9/17: Marquette 8, Ishpeming 0
  • HS Soccer 9/17: Marquette 5, Kingsford 0
  • HS Tennis 9/17: West Iron County 8, Gwinn 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/17: Stephenson 3, Norway 0
4244 articles
Friday September 18, 2020
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers

PORT HURON---The Bay College Norse women’s basketball team lost to the Mid Michigan Lakers by 64 points last season. That embarrassing loss was not forgotten by the sophomores on this year’s Norse team, and after the team had a disappointing loss to St. Clair County Friday night, the Norse were up for the task on Saturday.

The Lakers led from start to finish, but the Norse staged a late comeback that cut a 19-point deficit down to single digits before falling to the nation’s 14th-ranked team, 80-75, in Port Huron.

The Norse gave up 29 points in the first quarter, falling behind by ten points after the first ten minutes.

It was a 16-point game, 47-31, at halftime, but the Norse found their scoring touch in the second half, and the defense started to force some turnovers against a Mid Michigan team two women foul out and another have four fouls as the game ended. 

Mid Michigan had just eight players suit up. The ones they have are, obviously, quite good. After JuliAnn Wickman put back a missed triple for a basket and a foul, Bay climbed to within 54-43 in the third quarter.

The Lakers responded as Savannah Peplinski knocked down a triple and EllieJohnson came off the bench to sink three three’s.

In the fourth quarter, the Norse trailed, 74-57, before they made their run. Haley Trudell sank a three-pointer with 5:16 left to make it 74-60, then after Brooke Dalgord hit a couple of free throws, Marissa Ackerman took a hard charge at mid-court leading to another Norse possession.

That ended in two Wickman free throws, and Wickman sank a pair of technical foul free throws to climb to within 74-66 with 3:19 to play.

The Norse had chances to get closer but a couple of turnovers and a one-handed triple by Jordan Peplinski restored a 77-66 lead for the Lakers.

Bay cut it to 79-73 with 29.9 seconds left when Trudell missed a three and Wickman got the rebound, scored under the hoop, got fouled,, and made the free throw.

But the Norse couldn’t get the steal, and since they had no team fouls in that quarter, had to spend five possessions committing fouls. That took the game down to its final seconds, and Madison Olsen’s basket at the end made it a 80-75 final.

Wickman, a North Dickinson graduate in her second year on the Norse team, had a career-high 26 points, making ten of eleven from the foul line. Trudell had 20 points, including six three-point baskets.

Amelia McNutt led Mid Michigan (9-0) in scoring with 24 points, making four triples and sinking six of her eight free throw attempts. Steffi Kracko had 20 points, six rebounds, six steals, and just one  turnover.

Mid Michigan shot 50-percent, 23 of 46 from the field, and made 11 of 22 three-point baskets.

The Norse outrebounded the Lakers, 33-24.

Besides Wickman’s 26 and Trudell’s 20, Dalgord had six points and nine rebounds.

Bay College fell to 7-3 on the season.

The Norse are home for the annual holiday tournament next Saturday and Sunday.

The ladies host Harper College at 6:00 Saturday night and will take on Milwaukee Tech Sunday afternoon at 2:00. Both games will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 and www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHT box above to see photos, videos, and listen to post game comments from Coach Rob Robinson. Also click to hear Taylor Hunter’s player spotlight interview.










Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019